Gauge says my trans is WAY too hot - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 07:48 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
350dieselsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Castine Maine
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 350dieselsmk
Gauge says my trans is WAY too hot

So earlier in the year I was putting my trans temp sender in the inspection port and it sheared. well this weekend i got it out and put the new one it. after driving for about 10 minutes its up at 250 but shifts same as usual. Im thinking i have a grounding issue. The other day i had an O/D light but that was after hammering on it on the highway for a while. I don't think i would get proper shifting if my trans was actually at 250. My trans is not at its strongest point right now and is going to need a rebuild in the next few months but having it that hot and shifting normally confuses me. also on my way back to school last night (234 mile drive) the temp seemed to drop a few degrees when i passed a buss going up hill. weird?
thanks
Will
350dieselsmk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 08:14 AM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 14,605
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Thanks: 67
Thanked 406 Times in 391 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would agree that you probably have an electrical issue. Going to 250* in 10 minutes seems excessive. OTOH, if you're thinking you're going to need a rebuild soon, you could have some internal issues generating some heat in there.

As far as shifting fine at 250*, mine would do that too. When pulling my 5th wheel up a long grade, the tranny was getting hot, but seemed to shift just fine. One thing I did to bring temps down was install a 6.0L tranny cooler. It's 31-rows vs the 9-row that came with the 7.3L. It doesn't run that hot anymore. You might want to check to see if you have air-flow blockage. The cooler sits between the Intercooler and the AC condenser down low. Most of it sits low enough that it's behind the bumper.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck: Ol' Guy Garage
Tow Toy: Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 08:17 AM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You know you're supposed to be lookin at fluid temp right?

Not sure where the inspection port is, but my sensor is in my pan.
chvyrkr is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
350dieselsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Castine Maine
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 350dieselsmk
Good to know. thanks for the info. I am going to go check the ground. its tied into a main feed along with the egt gauge should it have it own ground or can it be tied into a common?
350dieselsmk is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 08:19 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
350dieselsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Castine Maine
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 350dieselsmk
Quote:
Originally Posted by chvyrkr81 View Post
You know you're supposed to be lookin at fluid temp right?

Not sure where the inspection port is, but my sensor is in my pan.
Did you drill and tap it into your pan or is there a port? All I've heard of was going into the inspection port or tapping into the line going to the cooler
350dieselsmk is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 08:28 AM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Inspection port is gonna soak up alot of case heat, and not give you an accurate reading in my opinion. Not sure exactly where is is on yours, what year?

But, I have an extra deep pan, that came with a tapped hole for that purpose. Line to cooler is another good place.

Bottom line, don't care how hot the case is, I wanna know what shape my fluid is in. Just like I look at Engine Oil Temp and Coolant temp. Not block temp or radiator temp.
chvyrkr is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 11:20 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
350dieselsmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Castine Maine
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 350dieselsmk
Thats a very solid point. what kind of pan do you have?
350dieselsmk is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 11:47 AM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I actually have an ATS pan. But don't tell anybody. There are others availible from several outfits.
chvyrkr is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 01:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea, chvy, I would'nt tell anyone I spent THAT much money on a pan either. (BG)
ipz2222 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-22-2010, 03:10 PM
Coal Rolling = Posing

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumberland Furnace, TN
Posts: 9,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It came on the transmission I bought before I learned to do my own homework...
chvyrkr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome