NO START, good CPS/Buzz test/battery/UVCG Clips/etc. HELP! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
NO START, good CPS/Buzz test/battery/UVCG Clips/etc. HELP!

Driving '03 Excursion 7.3 with 82K down interstate. ENGINE DIES, all lights are on, coast to side of road, no restart. Just cranks like it should. Theft light is ON, flashing rapidly. Tried to address it as a PATS issue with no luck. Tow home.

Replace a fuse that blew a few times (#22 or #30) when trying to restart. Unplugged fuel filter heater/wastegate noid. No more theft light after new fuses or some tinkering, no sure what changed that. Still no start.

Tried two known working CPS. Pulled driver side valve cover to check harness and previous owner installed clips already. Glow plugs tested fine on passenger side when I have VC off. All fuses good, swapped around some relays in fuse box for fun.

Bought and ran AE from laptop. Buzz test passed (though half injectors were a weaker buzz (2,4,3,5).

Couldn't get any fuel pressure to read out on AE while KOEO (what should I read?)

Changed IDM with a known working unit from my 2002.

Wait to start comes on as it should. I hear the fuel pump fill the fuel bowl.

RPM,s don't bump while cranking. After 5 cranks the odometer light turns off, and 4x4 flashes once, but that may be normal. It seems I may have either a bad ground somewhere, or I left some light on because the original newer batteries were killed one day after I was messing with it. Noticed security lights tried to stay on, so I had to unhook my second set of batteries.

Checked all wires for wear, none found.

I know this is long, but I would rather lay it all on the table, rather than make this a 20 questions game. The beast just cranks. Jackass needs any help you can offer. Thanks.

NOTE: ---- I did do a quick pressure wash on the truck and under hood after picking up some mud (shortly before this died) -----
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,464
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it's not reading any feul pressure? have you tested the pressure at the schrader valve? i know if the tach doesn't move when cranking, it's usually the CPS, but you've already tried that. I'm not a tech, but here's a bump for ya till maybe scuffy or another tech sees it...good luck buddy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-30-2009, 12:50 PM
<<---"Shadow"---

 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 5,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to sea71
Hook up to the AE again. Go to live data meter. set 1 window for ICP(Injection ControlPressure). Try starting and see what this number shows. How high does it go after 5 seconds or so? Just an idea. Trying to help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-30-2009, 01:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I ran these Injection Control Pressure numbers with the IDM still disconnected, so not sure if it matters.

ICP - 0 at rest, 40 for first five cranks, up to 3300 second five cranks then falls

ICP Volts - .22 at rest, 55 after cranking then drops

ICP Duty Cycle - 14.84 during whole test.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:03 PM
<<---"Shadow"---

 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 5,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to sea71
Well, i guess that rules out the ipr being stuck. Maybe a tech will see this and chime in. Good Luck with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:08 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,064
Thanks: 112
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Where is your fuel pressure at when cranking?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AE says NOTHING, 0

ZIP

I did check the bowl/filter and it was full, had to open valve to reduce diesel level to drop filter back in. Hearing pump prime each time I cycle key.

Wadaya think?

I also get a P1670 code on both generic & enhanced, and the common p0603 & p1000 codes too. With the original IDM, I was getting some codes, but they may have been different. I can hook up again and check.

Last edited by JACKA$$; 05-30-2009 at 02:47 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-30-2009, 02:36 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,064
Thanks: 112
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACKA$$ View Post
AE says NOTHING, 0

ZIP

Wadaya think?
I don't know how AE reads fuel pressure while cranking or if it does. That would be a question for sea71. But if it is actually showing zero fuel pressure i would say your pump is shot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-30-2009, 03:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,464
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I don't know how AE reads fuel pressure while cranking or if it does. That would be a question for sea71. But if it is actually showing zero fuel pressure i would say your pump is shot
i was thinking that too, but i didn't wanna say it....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-30-2009, 03:28 PM
<<---"Shadow"---

 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Georgetown, SC
Posts: 5,135
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to sea71
I dont think it reads fuel pressure. I opened that window one time and had a zero in it, but the truck was running. lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors