Fuel? leak - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2007, 07:07 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel? leak

When I came home from the golf course today I noticed a wet spot on my driveway. I stuck my fingers in it and smelled it, not oil, but doesn't smell like diesel either ( might be ulsd?). Anyway leak would be coming from right (passenger) side of motor. Is the fuel filter located on that side? or maybe the fuel water drain? I'm new to working on my own rig, so any help is really appreciated. Thanks, Kevin.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2007, 02:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

prolly the water drain off lever not closed all the way. look on top of the motor on the fuel filter canister and on the passenger side back of it there should be a yelow lever, just push it to the closed position and see if that fixes it
Old 01-30-2007, 02:47 PM
Jon

Yes

Check also to see if the valve is just plain leaking along with if it is open. They are bad to go out.
Old 01-31-2007, 12:19 PM

Thanks for the info guys. I looked on the top of the motor (valley) and found a canister about 4" in diameter toward the front of the valley. I assume this is the fuel filter canister. Like you said dirty, there was a yellow lever-looking tab on the passenger side rear of the canister. I tried to gently move the lever-no go. It doesn't move. I didn't find any leaking around the lever either. I apologize for my mechanical ineptitude--but its improving.
Old 01-31-2007, 12:54 PM
ADMIN AND TECH

it should move back and forth, might want to get that fixe if its stuck ,is the valley of the engine dry
Old 01-31-2007, 08:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott whisenhunt View Post
it should move back and forth, might want to get that fixe if its stuck ,is the valley of the engine dry