Idle drops when keying cb radio mic - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy Idle drops when keying cb radio mic

2000 superduty 7.3.....I have a professionally installed and tested CB radio in my truck that has worked for many years. Recently when keying the mic the engine rpm drops to about 500rpm. when releasing the radio mic key the rpm returns to normal.
I took the truck to a cb shop today. They installed a test cb radio and antenna. The test system had the same affect on the engine RPM. Is there a Ford noise filter on the computer or some other ford electrical component that may need to be shileded or replaced?

Last edited by mike60retired; 04-06-2009 at 07:19 PM. Reason: adding information
mike60retired is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 07:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jordan,MN
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did the test system use the same coax cable as your regular system? Maybe cable is routed too close to the PCM?

Russ
Late '99 F-350 7.3l 6sp 2wd aftermarket dually kit 255,000mi STOCK
Deeslfxr is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The test system used a maganitic roof mount antenna with its own coax
mike60retired is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 07:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
READNECK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: burney ca
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did they use the same power wire and ground as your current setup?
READNECK is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no, they used a different power source. they plugged into the cig ligher.
My power comes from the fuse panel
mike60retired is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
to test, I ran power directly to the battery with no positive change
mike60retired is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 08:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
READNECK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: burney ca
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it really sounds like a ground issue to me. i'm sure some one with more knowledge will come along soon and help you good luck.
READNECK is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-06-2009, 08:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
maybe you got your radio tuned and it's drawing so much power to transmit your truck is lugged down lol
but seriously, no clue. mine doesn't do this and mine runs in by the pcm, is grounded to the frame and mounted on the mirrors. power is from a tap a fuse on the radio fuse so that it's shielded



2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
jesilvas is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-09-2009, 03:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
superduty4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try re-routing the coax cable. Someone on another site I frequent had this problem and it was solved by re-routing the coax.

97 F350 CCLB 4x4 PSD
superduty4x4 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-09-2009, 07:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jordan,MN
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduty4x4 View Post
Try re-routing the coax cable. Someone on another site I frequent had this problem and it was solved by re-routing the coax.
Yup, I have to agree.

Russ
Late '99 F-350 7.3l 6sp 2wd aftermarket dually kit 255,000mi STOCK
Deeslfxr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome