camshaft error -- engines dies -- doesn't restart for about 30 minutes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2009, 10:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tenino, WA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
camshaft error -- engines dies -- doesn't restart for about 30 minutes

The problem I am having is this -- when driving the engine dies, then it won't restart and it doesn't get a 'wait to start engine' light until it sits about 30 - 45 minutes, then the light comes on and I can re-start it. It seems to help if I start it and let it idle for about 20 minutes before taking off. I replaced the camshaft sensor 3 times now in the past 6 months. The first 2 I got from NAPA, today I got one from Ford. Started it, idled for about 5 minutes, drove about 5 miles and it died. It took me about an hour and a half to get home, stalling 2 times and waiting about 15 - 30 minutes to restart each time. I read another thread that sounded similar and his solution was to replace the Injector Pressure Regulator. About 200 miles back I replaced the fuel filter.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by jhall-99f350; 01-26-2009 at 10:23 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-2009, 12:07 AM
scuffs *****

 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oakwood, OH
Posts: 5,272
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Tyler
Call ford about that CPS and b!tch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-27-2009, 04:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jordan,MN
Posts: 163
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You don't by chance have any of the fuses in the power distribution block replaced with circuit breakers do you? It sounds like something is getting hot and kicking out. I assume it will idle forever but the problem occurs when you start driving? It doesn't happen right after hitting a bump or rough spot in the road does it? That's a long time for a breaker to reset but if it was a weak one maybe? Were you able to check for codes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tenino, WA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Deeslfxr --
I'm not aware of any circuit breakers. I have looked at both fuse blocks -- under the dash and under the hood. I didn't see anything different than fuses there.
It isn't triggered by bumps in the road. It seems to be happening more when I don't let the truck warm up, so not sure if heat is the problem or being too cold.
The only code I am getting it the camshaft error.

Last edited by jhall-99f350; 01-27-2009 at 09:08 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-27-2009, 09:47 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tenino, WA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is it a PCM problem?

I just talked to a local (and reputable) diesel shop here and he said that more codes should be stored in the datastream and they can scan deeper for those codes. His initial thought is that the PCM might be bad. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jordan,MN
Posts: 163
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PCM maybe, but I'd check connector and wiring to CPS and PCM closely first. Also I read something here somewhere about setting the depth of the CPS, maybe one of the techs will shed some light on that. What was the number of the camshaft error code?

Last edited by Deeslfxr; 01-27-2009 at 05:08 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:08 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Berwick
Posts: 1,829
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97StrokerG View Post
Call ford about that CPS and b!tch.
thats probly what it is
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-27-2009, 08:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tenino, WA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
error code and message

The only error that my FlashPaq gets is P0603 -- INTERNAL CTRL MOD KAM ERROR. I really think this is only a symptom of a different problem. I have put 3 new CPS units in the truck over the last 6 months.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-28-2009, 03:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jordan,MN
Posts: 163
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhall-99f350 View Post
The only error that my FlashPaq gets is P0603 -- INTERNAL CTRL MOD KAM ERROR. I really think this is only a symptom of a different problem. I have put 3 new CPS units in the truck over the last 6 months.
P0603= Internal Control Module Keep Alive Memory (KAM) Error
I don't think this is related to the CPS. I'm not sure what the diagnostic procedures are for this but I'll see what I can find out at work today. Maybe a tech will clear this up for you before that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:18 AM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,576
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
603 is NOT related to the cam sensor, it simply means the computer has lost power or has been reprogrammed lately, anytime there is a chip or tuner then this code will usually be there. It is nothing to worry about and should be ignored unless your getting warranty work done.
Your symptoms sound to me like a problem with the PCM or power to the PCM. Maybe try to find a spare one to try out, I got my spare for $75 delivered from car-parts.com
What kind of truck is it?
Is it an early 99 or 99,5
Is it an auto or manual?
IF it is an E-99 and an auto then upgrading to a PMT1 computer might interest you anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors