Got Codes...:( - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-11-2006, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
PIPE HITTER
 
gcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Got Codes...:(

P0478....PCM has determined that the signal from the exhaust pressure control valve is to high for the current operating conditions.


P1211....injector control pressure sensor above/below desired levels


suggestions on where to start. I'm not to concerned about the first one, but the second one worries me a bit.

thanks guys !

"Life is hard, it's even harder when you are stupid"
gcop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-11-2006, 07:46 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
first one im not sure about off the top of my head...

second one was probably set by your 10k or 18k mod
mschn99 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-11-2006, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
PIPE HITTER
 
gcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
second one was probably set by your 10k or 18k mod
...well if I had the 18k or 10k mod, that may be the case...LOL my 18K mod is still sitting here on my desk...........

"Life is hard, it's even harder when you are stupid"
gcop is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 03:32 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
steph38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: montreal canada
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcop View Post
P0478....PCM has determined that the signal from the exhaust pressure control valve is to high for the current operating conditions.


P1211....injector control pressure sensor above/below desired levels


suggestions on where to start. I'm not to concerned about the first one, but the second one worries me a bit.

thanks guys !
i got the same codes my mechanic suggest me to start by changing the ICP
sensor so maybe it could help you
steph38 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 10:56 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
djsdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P0478 most likely you need a Exhaust back pressure sensor, or the tube going to it is plugged

P1211 if you have a chip, programmer, or module installed it will set that code and is normal

The EBP sensor on a 99+ is just above the waterpump, on earlier ones it is mounted on the backside of the HPOP resevoir, under the plastic engine cover
There are Pig tails that eliminate this code if you do not want to replace the sensor. But if you do the Exhaust back pressure valve will not work.

99.5 F-250 PSD AT 4x4, 4in lift, 37 13.5 18 Pro comp Extreme A/T's, S&B Intake, GTP38R, DP Tuner custom programs (140 Agg., 120 sled pull, 80 tow and 60 tow), Rosewood DIY stage 2 injectors, BTS Trans, 5in exhaust no muffler, 6 oh intercooler, Ford AIC, EBPV delete, Foil delete, T/C lock up mod, Pusher Fuel Pump, Three Chime train Horns


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
djsdiesel is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
PIPE HITTER
 
gcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm thinking I'm just going to replace the sensor. I do have the TS chip installed, but it has been installed for 6-7 months now, so I don't think it is the cause of the 1211 code.

djsdiesel I appriciate you pointing the way for me, that will make it a bit easier.

"Life is hard, it's even harder when you are stupid"
gcop is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 04:06 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
djsdiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm betting your chip is what caused it, if you talk to who you got the chip from they will probably tell you it is normal to see this code. Why did you check codes? Did your check engine light come on? If it did, did it come on under hard acceleration? I know when you buy an edge product in the back of the manual it gives a list of codes that is normal to see and the P1211 is one of them. Part of your chip programming is to up the ICP pressure.

99.5 F-250 PSD AT 4x4, 4in lift, 37 13.5 18 Pro comp Extreme A/T's, S&B Intake, GTP38R, DP Tuner custom programs (140 Agg., 120 sled pull, 80 tow and 60 tow), Rosewood DIY stage 2 injectors, BTS Trans, 5in exhaust no muffler, 6 oh intercooler, Ford AIC, EBPV delete, Foil delete, T/C lock up mod, Pusher Fuel Pump, Three Chime train Horns


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
djsdiesel is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
PIPE HITTER
 
gcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I really don't think it's the chip. I have floored the crap outta this truck since the chip was installed about 7-6 months ago. I drive it set on 100HP. If the chip were the cause, I would think I would have seen the SES light long ago. I checked the codes because the SES showed up the other day when I started the truck up.

I'm thinking at this point the sensor is just bad.

"Life is hard, it's even harder when you are stupid"
gcop is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 12-12-2006, 06:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
steph38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: montreal canada
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcop View Post
I really don't think it's the chip. I have floored the crap outta this truck since the chip was installed about 7-6 months ago. I drive it set on 100HP. If the chip were the cause, I would think I would have seen the SES light long ago. I checked the codes because the SES showed up the other day when I started the truck up.

I'm thinking at this point the sensor is just bad.
In my case the ses light turn on only on 50hp setting. I go wot on other settings no light but the engine sound change a bit turn the knob on 50hp the light came on
steph38 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome