99 7.3 Fuel Supply Issues - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2014, 06:24 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
99 7.3 Fuel Supply Issues

Hello , Im new here. Sorry for the long first post but

Ive been reading here for a while as a guest for quick references as I am a Diesel Tech at Alban Service In va. But I Currently have a truck in the shop that came in for lack of power and loses power on the high way when Hot and shuts off. Ive done a full service on it. New oil, filter and Fuel filter. Icp had oil in the connector, Replaced that and New IRP valve because the Duty cycle was higher than normal. Now that those are replaced the truck truck has power and runs perfectly fine. Only problem now , is When its warmed up it loses power on the highway and degrades in power till it shuts off. I have my Caterpillar liquid filled gauges hooked to the fuel bowl test port and at idle I Have 62psi. When the trucks warm and given moderate to full throttle the gauge goes to all the way to zero once the rpms are up. The truck then degrades in power till where it onlly does 40mph at WOT. Then eventually runs out of fuel it seems and shuts down. Its a cab and chassis dump truck so there is no sock or mixing chamber screens in the tank. Just a pick up tube. But i Did pull that apart and there is no debris in the tank and the pick up tube is clean. I also Have a p0540 that comes back each test drive. (ICP Higher/Lower than desired) Which I believe is triggered cuz its comanding for more HPO , but the fuel restriction wont let it. My question is: Can the inline pump on the frame Be failing and not handle the volume of fuel needed at higher rpms? even tho its okay at idle? Or should I look into the fuel pressure regulator.

Thoughts, Ideas, Suggestions ?
Thanks
Josh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links