$3800 Repair.......and counting. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2014, 07:24 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
$3800 Repair.......and counting.

I am new to this forum and need some knowledge and advice. I am NOT a mechanic or that mechanically inclined. I have just a general understanding of how diesels work so please be gentle.

I have a 2001 F250 4X4 Crew cab. I bought it used ten years ago and it has 157,000 miles on it. All I have ever had to do to it is oil changes and brakes. It has been an outstanding truck. Last week it started spewing fuel. I had it towed to a diesel shop. On inspection, they found that the up pipes were leaking badly, the intercooler hoses were bad and a bad fuel line (obviously). I was quoted a price of around $2200 to repair. while in the shop, it was discovered that the turbo pedestal needed to be replaced as well, due to the plunger leaking. I also had a new air filter, fuel filter and oil change. The total was $3800. I was shocked but paid it because I love this truck. However, the truck is now running worse than when I took it in (minus the fuel leak of course).

When idling, there is a shaking that feels like the engine is loose from its mounts and there is an oil leak. But the worst part is the complete lack of power. It takes about a mile to get up to 45 MPH and the hissing from the tail pipe when the vehicle is accelerating is incredibly loud. Also, it doesn't shift correctly anymore. As I accelerate, if I stay on the accelerator, just before it hard shifts to third, there is a cloud of black smoke. The smoke stops as soon as it shifts.