Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

00 7.3 oil leak?

3K views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  PaDC5 
#1 · (Edited)
00 7.3 oil leak? With picture

Have a small leak on my powerstroke. Not sure where it's coming from. Doesn't seem like oil is effected by it too much. Not sure if it leaks whenever running or driving but seems like after I turn the truck off it drips a few drips and then periodically keeps dripping a little after that. It doesn't leave huge puddles in the driveway over night.

I'm going to attach a picture of the leak. Looks like it drips down in the front on drivers side somewhere and drips onto the front trackbar? I know there is a ton of these about oil leaks but didn't really see anything that applied to my situation. I am a newbie to these trucks coming from a Dodge Cummins.

See less See more
#2 ·
An oil leak on the front of the motor is most typically the LPOP housing. The other option is where the dipstick goes into the oil pan but that is a little further back on on the pass side.

Look at the crankshaft pulley, the LPOP housing is behind it, bolted to the front cover. There is probably oil all over the bottom of that housing. If thats the case, and there isn't much oil on the top of the housing, its best to replace the LPOP.

I did a write up on replacing it on another forum. Here is the link Melling LPOP Install - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Reactions: Twim
#3 · (Edited)
Would this cause a no start whenever motor is cold even if temperature is in 40s? Truck starts right up if plugged in for a little?

There is no smoke of any kind and doesn't seem like the truck has any power loss either. Replaced the GPR already and nothing. Going to test the glow plugs and go from there.