99 f250 died while driving - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2014, 05:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
99 f250 died while driving

Hey I just bought a 99 f250 7.3 manual transmission,Ive driven alot of these trucks at work but this is my first time owning one. When I bought it the engine sounded great everything seemed fine driving the first two days. Last night I was driving down the express way in 5th gear at about 2k rpm and than the truck started bucking and the tac dropped and i cranked it and cranked it but it wouldnt start back up. I rolled to the shoulder and tried cranking it for a few it eventually started up but it was rough,I drove it about another 100 feet and it died again. I just so happened to have a new fuel filter I bought that day and decided it was worth a try. Took the old filter off it looked pretty much new and also I noticed the canister was full of fuel. I tighted the filter back up and it started good and ran fine. Drove it about another 10 miles with no issues. When I got to my buddys house I decided to put the new filter on just for the hell of it. Drove good with no issues the rest of the way home. Just wondering where to start to diagnosing the problem. (Also early that day the service engine soon light came on, not sure if thats like a maintenance thing that comes on every set miles or the same as check engine) Any advice will be appreciated thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-23-2014, 06:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Find out what code got set when the light came on, it might have all the answers for you (Unfortunately, it takes a professional scanner to retrieve them and the Genreric OBD-II scanners like the Auto Parts stores use don't do us much good...)