7.3 problems help please - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2013, 03:24 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
7.3 problems help please

Ok so I'm new to the form. I have a 1999 7.3 f350 2wd drw I just installed a reman engine iv got about 400 miles on it I live in VA been kinda cold snore iv done this so my questions are it takes it a little while to start up in the mornings when cold and never starts rite up as it should I don't think. Has lots of white smoke when cold . Has a p0541 code for intake heater then every once in awhile the cel will flash on for a sec and go away it pops a p1316 and a p1670 code if anyone can help me out it be great .. oh and I noticed the other night I was sitting at the store talking to a buddy and left truck running and reved it up a Little bit to let him hear it and it puffed out some white smoke but has to idea for awhile . I'm thinking maybe a leaking or sticking injector but truck runs great so any help be awesome
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2013, 03:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
First thing you want to do is to check-out the entire Glow Plug System (plugs/relay/connections). Have a look here -> Troubleshooting GPR & GP's

If you plug it in for a few hours, on a cold morning when you'd expect it to give you trouble, and it starts normally, it's a good indication something's lacking in the GPs.

The 541 I wouldn't worry about, the AIH is pretty useless and not part of your problem.

The 1316 is the IDM telling you to perform a Buzz Test to allow it to further resolve specific codes that should help you narrow it down (what are you using to scan?)