strange start up and shut down noise - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2013, 06:30 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
strange start up and shut down noise

i put my new exhaust on my 250 and know that i can hear it running i found two weird noises that i cant explain myself so i thought i would ask the experts. im new at diesel but not a complete air head lol. first is an exhaust noise when you first start her up and she is cold she sounds good for a little then i start to get this loud high pitch air noise but when you tap the fuel it goes away and them comes back and you have to repeat the process till she is warmed up. the second is the turbo it sounds great when she is running sool up is good everything sounds great till your turn the key off and the spool down she is loud. it is a garrett gtp38r ball bearing turbo and full mbrp 4" exhaust. here is a link to a vid of it. can you guys please tell me if everything is ok or do i have to be worried https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XejPFkIOjxs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-27-2013, 06:25 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

The video was hard to hear on my phone, but sounds normal to me. Your BB turbo will coast for a while after shutdown. Your load air sound is probably the exhaust back pressure valve. Most just unplug it at the pedestal to deactivate it
Old 10-27-2013, 07:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

the "jet" sound at idle is the EBPV valve closing to aid in warm up.
thats what it is supposed to do, dont tap the pedal. it is a valve on the turbo that closes to help create backpressure and warm the truck up.

as far as the turbo goes, its ball bearing, so it will continue to spin after the truck is off.

and whats with the intake? your just sucking a bunch of hot air having it like that.