Hissing sound - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2013, 01:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hissing sound

Hi,
newbie here. I purchased a 2000 F250 used with about 240,000 miles back in July. I have added about 4,000 miles since then, and have had no problems with the engine. Yesterday and today I noticed on the way to work a hissing sound from the other side of the firewall. It wasn't so bad yesterday, but did it all the way to work today on and off. My trip is about 20 miles one way, cruising at 55-65 MPH. The noise doesn't start until the engine is warmed up into the "normal" range. Sorry, I don't have any gauges yet. The engine warms until it is just at the bottom of the normal range, and stays there. That's when the noise starts. A hissing comes on quickly, along with a slight but noticeable drop in power. The noise really sounds like a boost leak. It will last anywhere from about 10 seconds up to several minutes. Then it will stop just as quickly as it started, with a whistle sound just as it stops, sounding almost like a waste gate on a WRX or something. When it stops, the power comes back. It will then happen again after a short time. The temperature recently dropped out here, and this morning on my way to work it was 32 degrees. It happens while cruising in overdrive at constant speed, 55 mph (about 1,700 rpm) to 65 MPH (about 2,000 rpm). It does it with cruise control on and off.