2001 7.3 (ICP?) Issues - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2013, 04:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2001 7.3 (ICP?) Issues

Long time lurker and first time poster. I bought a 2001 F350 7.3 Powerstroke 4x4 Crew Cab Short Bed a couple months ago. I just recently got stationed in New Jersey, and am new to the east coast. So the truck ran fine, the only problem I had with it when I bought it was the oil pan, it is rusted in the sump, and oil is seeping through the bottom (Approx. 3-4 Drips per minute), which I figured I could fix, as I am a heavy diesel mechanic in the Air Force. I didnt know at the time that I needed to pull the entire engine to do that. Anyway, thats not my issue. About a month ago, I did an oil change, after the oil change, is when my issues started, rough idle, "hiccups" while driving at cruising speed, and finally it died on me once at a stop light, but then started right back up, and ran fine for the rest of the trip home. Thought it could be the CPS, so I replaced that, and that didn't solve the problem, so I looked next at the ICP, I unplugged it, it was filled with oil, and it smoothed out when it was unplugged, so I figured that was bad as well, so I replaced it. Once I got the new ICP in, I plugged it in, and STILL rough idle and "hiccuping" at cruising. My next venture will probably be cleaning the IPR and the EBPS and tube. I was wondering if anyone had a similar problem or could shed some light on some things I could look into. I do not have access to any sort of scanner other than my OBDII scanner from Harbor Freight. I have the ICP unplugged still, and continue to drive it and it runs pretty good, seems low on power and slightly rough idle, but nothing too bad. I've got a baby on the way and wanting to get this problem figured out. Thanks for all the help in advan