Fuel Rail or Fuel Bowl Losing Prime - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2013, 07:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel Rail or Fuel Bowl Losing Prime

Hello...newbie here!

I have recently replaced the fuel lift pump on my 99 F350 7.3L. Shortly after replacing it, I began to hear knocking in the injectors. For some reason, the fuel system was taking on air. To rule out the possibility of a leak in the fuel line(s) or connections, I ran a direct 3/8 inch fuel line from the tank to the pump and another one from the pump to the fuel bowl. I started the engine, it idled fine for a minute, the knocking sound came back and even stronger, and the engine stalled.

I'm guessing the fuel rail or fuel bowl lost its prime. I turned the fuel bowl's pressure release valve and turned the key. Fuel did begin to spill out, so I'm guessing the air has been purged from the fuel bowl. If that is the case, is it likely for the fuel rail to have lost its prime? If so, how to I prime it?

When I crank the engine, it appears to want to start but doesn't quite make it. There is some combustion occurring but probably lacking enough fuel to start the engine.

Thanks in advance for any help...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-16-2013, 08:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

if you would have ran a fuel line from a jerry can to pump, the problem would probably have gone away. These trucks have a habit of plugging up in the sending unit. There's a mixing chamber/filter, that oertime, will clog. The fix is, the Hutch Mod....

To purge the system is no more then letting the truck idle and allowing the air to pass thru the injectors.

Welcome to guzzle's In-tank Hutch Mod Web Page
Old 07-16-2013, 08:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyboy76 View Post