Recent Problems with 7.3L Upgrades - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2008, 08:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recent Problems with 7.3L Upgrades

Last weekend I upgraded my 2003 F-250 7.3L with boost and EGT guages, and performance chip.

I have been having some troubles with the turbo (and I think I may have been before the upgrades as well but now it is really noticeable.)

Right now I sometimes have no boost at all, then when turbo kicks in truck goes like crazy. I haven't been running chip much becuase of the suspected problems.

I noticed a drop in mileage in August when I put new set of rubber on and went to 285s, but think now it may be related to my turbo issue possibly.

Installed my chip at the farm about 60 miles away from home, mileage increased from 10 mpg to about 16.5 mpg but something still doesn't seem right.

I get lots of black smoke but no power (turbo seems to surge in and out).

My next plan was to upgrade intake and exhaust, but I need to get my other issues fixed first.

I pull 35 ft 5th wheel and enclosed sled trailers.

Any suggestions would help greatly.

My first time using this forum site (it is great) so if you need more info let me know.

Next messages will be shorter..thanks,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:49 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: central coast side CA
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
heres a
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-16-2008, 10:09 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Pull the intake and wiggle the turbo shaft. What kind of play up and down? What kind of play in and out? It that tests out to be very little play and it is not rubbing on anything you need to check for soot behind the turbo on the firewall. If none then you need to check for boost leaks at the intercooler boots.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-18-2008, 06:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I pulled the intake and checked the turbo...not much play at all. Doesn't appear to have any leakage anywhere else either. Got everything back together and don't seem to have problems with turbo engaging anymore but response is very slow. Seems like turbo is delayed. My temps climb to high before the turbo gets a chance to wind up.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-18-2008, 07:02 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
What brand of chip is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Custom Chip...bought from cousin who had it in his '03 F350...VDH5 codes match on chip and PCM.

Wish I would have bought his whole truck with chip...he ran 18 mpg towning and mid 20's mpg empty. I said he was off base but he swears by it--checked manually and not computer read out.

I called the local diesel shop near Buffalo MN where he purchased and they no longer exist. I was going to send it off to have someone check tunes and possibly reprogram but if I take time with that I may just get some DP Tunes...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:17 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Is there any markings on it to tell you what brand? TS, bully dog or anything? How about a couple of pics of the chip?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Foley, Minnesota
Posts: 433
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where u located im in st.cloud
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-19-2008, 09:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm located in Fargo ND-

No description or markings on the chip---very crude. The switch is a simple three way toggle. Sorry for lack of info...I will get some pics of it but probably won't happen until later in the week.

After brainstorming with a couple buddies we are wondering if the truck is over-fueling in race mode. Lots of black smoke and too much heat with no power. I get hot before my turbo has a chance to fully engage.

Might be a problem with the intake and not enough air. May make a lot of sense becuase if I end up in stop-n-go traffic it feels like it loads up. Once I get out on the road and clear it up seems to be better. I planned on intake and exhaust just haven't had time yet to install.

What do you think? Any suggestions on a filter...I heard the air box on the Ford is a good as you get so just go with a drop in filter and cut a hole in the front end (behind grille) to give the box some more breathing room.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-19-2008, 07:03 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Who ever told you the ford intake is as good as you can get should be kicked in the groin. It is very restrictive. But it filters decent but a drop in filter is hard to get to seal right and can lead to ruining your engine. Just ask alabamafrog about dusting.

The hole you reference is called the zoodad mod and it is worth it to do. It will funnel cold air into the intake and that is a good thing.

Do you have gauges?

The only chip I know of that loads up is the diablo chip. It says diablosport on the chip in silver. I have one in the desk drawer in fact. It would make the truck shudder and shake at WOT. I ran one for about 6 months and could not take it anymore.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors