new guy issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2013, 01:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new guy issue

howdy guys im new to the diesel community. i am looking at getting a 99 turbo 7.3 powerstroke f250 but i have some concerns. it seems very underpowered while taking off like its not safe to pull out in front of people not the usual 1-2 turbo lag like it takes it a few seconds to get up and go but once it gets going it has power. also while test driving it died but caught itself as i was stoping. the truck is a great buy so if this is a simple fix let me know im thinking its the CPS but not 100% sure. i only let the truck warm up for a few minutes after being started and it started very easily and i only drove it at max 1.5 miles down the road and back. when i pulled back i opened the hood and water was on the a/c compressor don't believe that has anything to do with it the truck is completely stock and the door ajar light is on constantly if that is a sign. truck has 239,000 miles but the newb will appreciate the help.

Last edited by 4d4life1994; 05-21-2013 at 01:36 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2013, 01:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
OK First, read through this -> What to look for when buying a USED 99-03 PSD

Next, diesels make lots of power low-end, it all about torque at 1500rpm. That engine has a problem, there's really no such thing as Turbo Lag in these diesels (not at alike a Gas job).

BUT, these engines are expensive to buy parts for, if you think it's a "deal", the only way to be sure is to have it professionally evaluated (also gets you bargaining power when you bring the "It Needs" list ).