Missfire Cylinder #4 - Please Help! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2008, 12:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Missfire Cylinder #4 - Please Help!

I am a newbie and have been on this forum less than a week. I have an F-250 Super Duty super cab with 7.3L PSD, 203K miles, build date is 02/01. Truck is blowing white smoke from exhaust that smells like diesel and feels "missing". Took it to dealership for cam position sensor recall. Replaced CPS did NOT correct the problem, computer diagnostics revealed "missfire on cylinder #4". I was quoted $175 to do a compression check.

My questions:
  1. Is compression test the same as contribution test?
  2. Is it possible to perform a compression check using this Harbor freight diesel compression tester for $25? Or perhaps this $149 kit from the same vendor?
  3. What is the best procedure to perform the compression test?
  4. What is the acceptable pressure range for 7.3L PSD for the above truck?

More specifically to my problem:
  1. What are the odds that the truck has a failing injector on cylinder #4? Is it possible for injector to deliver fuel to the cylinder but not result in combustion?
  2. Is there a way of testing an injector for its functionality?
  3. Can injector O-rings and copper seals result in observed symptoms?
  4. Can poor compression cause a "missfire" even if glow plug and injector are working?
  5. Will glow plug resistance and glow plug relay tests be sufficient to rule out a faulty glow plug?

My first steps:

It's best to probably get small stuff out of the way, so tomorrow I am planning on replacing the fuel filter and putting in a cetane booster from walmart. I am also planning on testing glow plug resistance and wiring to the glow plugs (assuming I can get the right set of instructions).