Post PCM no start and hand prime - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2013, 10:09 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Post PCM no start and hand prime

i'm 2nd owner of this truck. been reading a lot of posts before starting this thread. here's the deal:
PCM smoked and found an aftermarket chip assembly installed in it. replaced PCM. i'm going factory this time. NO CHIP!
the truck cranks and cranks. i can hand prime the truck and she runs great. my fuel pump does work, my filters are ok, it's just she won't get fuel with the key. what's up with that? i'm tracing wires and trying to figure out where the failure is in this logic. am i missing something? any words of advice?

99 F250 7.3L auto 2wd.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-31-2013, 10:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,623
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
When you say "prime" you're putting fuel in where?

Here's the Quick & Dirty NoStart list;

WTS Light? - do you get it when you first roll-on the key? (shows the computer is running)

Do you see cranking rpm on the Tach? Do you have a spare CPS to try?

Is there fuel in the fuel bowl now? Does it refill after cranking? (open the drain level to check)

Can you hear/feel the pump running (below the dr seat, against the framerail)

Could the fuel gauge be giving a bad reading? (Below 1/4 tank?)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-31-2013, 05:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i'm trying to help my mechanic out.
no on the spare sensor
he said he hand primed the truck and it fired up and ran. fuel pump runs good.
wts light good
i'll ask on RPMs on tach while cranking
best i can remember truck is low on fuel in tank. but when hand prime is complete, truck runs.
just won't do it under key by itself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-01-2013, 10:37 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it does show RPMs when cranking.
the WTS does light up.
the fuel pump does come on.
still checking wiring harness.
thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-01-2013, 12:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,623
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The Low-On-Fuel is what would concern me...

You could have a problem, in the tank, where the pick-up and mixers crack allowing air to be sucked instead of fuel (not an UnCommon failure in our trucks).

Here's a link to a mod to eliminate the problem -> Welcome to guzzle's In-tank Hutch Mod Web Page

OR, you could simply have a bad Sending Unit (in tank) telling you there's more fuel in there than there is and you're simply OUT

Either way, next is to verify fuel from the tank is getting to the pump.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-01-2013, 01:06 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thank you! i'll work on that step next! thanks so much for the online help. can you tell me one more thing? why is it that today's diesels have so much computer crap on them? i remember back in the day that the kenworths,peterbilts, caterpillars and what not didn't have all of the sensors on them and they ran good? let me guess, the govt got involved?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-01-2013, 07:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Page, AZ
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieSinns View Post
thank you! i'll work on that step next! thanks so much for the online help. can you tell me one more thing? why is it that today's diesels have so much computer crap on them? i remember back in the day that the kenworths,peterbilts, caterpillars and what not didn't have all of the sensors on them and they ran good? let me guess, the govt got involved?
Emissions is one reason, another is technology advances.

just like why do gas motors now have computers and injectors? yes the metered fuel leak of the carburetor's worked, but injection is so much better for emissions, fuel milage, and drivability.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-07-2013, 03:22 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok, here's the latest on my beloved truck:
i hauled some diesel out to it and put it in. fuel gauge came up to 1/4.
turn key on, get WTS light, i hear the fuel pump kick on, it cranks, no smoke and no fire up.
only code that's popping up is backpressure. that should go away once she fires up and runs shouldn't it? we're pouring through the wiring harness to see if any wires are bad since my old PCM smoked. it did smell like smoke.
still working on the truck, we'll find the problem unless someone else knows the answer, but we'll eventually get it going and then we will post the solution. but in the meatime, if you got some ideas, please pass them along.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:16 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
oh this is driving me crazy. too many sensors and computers and general bullcrap on these trucks. it ought to be simpler. i love this truck. i gotta get it going! vacation is coming up. still going through wiring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 213
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much fuel did you put in? If it really was out of fuel, you may need to add more. 5 gallons isn't enough.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors