Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Catastrophic turbo failure

5K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  kendallcschm 
#1 ·
Well the title says it all. I'm assuming the bearings came apart
and let's just say it isn't pretty. Turbine wheel is completely gone
And I'm assuming the housing is too. This is where I need help this is going to be my first major tear in to a 7.3 I've work on diesels in the past mostly 5.9s since this is my first ford which I love I'm just wondering what pulling this apart really involves since I'm use to seeing tubos fed via a oil line not a pedestal and if it comes off as one unit or two separate pices. Also one more thing is if pieces of the turbine wheel made it to the inter cooler how would I clean it out? Any info would be much appreciated since I am a newbie to the 7.3:

#2 ·
#3 ·
That sucks!

Turbine wheel is on the exhaust side so all that debris is out the exhaust pipe. The alum wheel that draws air through the filter is a compressor wheel. That indeed can make it to the intercooler but most likely stops there. You should pull the intercooler and shake all the debris out of it. You might also get some oil come out of it from the ccv.

#4 ·
Thanks kendallcschm not really sure what caused it to fail motor was full of oil and I say was cause most of it went out of the exhaust and I had the valve covers off in November do to the harness coming loose on the passenger side and I was getting excellent oil pressure to the heads alt least at that time and it had good pressure today until the oil made a dissapearing act out the exhaust so as of right know I really don't know. Also thanks for the link it will really help once it stops snowing here in Vermont

#5 ·