Catastrophic turbo failure - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 06:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Catastrophic turbo failure

Well the title says it all. I'm assuming the bearings came apart
and let's just say it isn't pretty. Turbine wheel is completely gone
And I'm assuming the housing is too. This is where I need help this is going to be my first major tear in to a 7.3 I've work on diesels in the past mostly 5.9s since this is my first ford which I love I'm just wondering what pulling this apart really involves since I'm use to seeing tubos fed via a oil line not a pedestal and if it comes off as one unit or two separate pices. Also one more thing is if pieces of the turbine wheel made it to the inter cooler how would I clean it out? Any info would be much appreciated since I am a newbie to the 7.3:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-19-2013, 06:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via Skype™ to kendallcschm
i got no clue about getting parts out but these are great instructions on how to remove the turbo:
99-03 Turbo Removal & Wicked Wheel Installation .: Articles

best of luck and what killed your turbo? lack of oil?
Old 03-19-2013, 07:04 PM

That sucks!

Turbine wheel is on the exhaust side so all that debris is out the exhaust pipe. The alum wheel that draws air through the filter is a compressor wheel. That indeed can make it to the intercooler but most likely stops there. You should pull the intercooler and shake all the debris out of it. You might also get some oil come out of it from the ccv.
Old 03-19-2013, 07:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie