CPS, or ICP?? Issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2013, 10:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

Alright,
When ever I let the truck sit for more then 30min it'll only run on few unless I shut her of and restart her about 5 times then it runs normally. If I let it sit over night when I go to start it it'll crank a little faster for bout 5 sec then it'll crank normal and fire up, runs normal for 5sec then act as if it's only running on 4, and if I shut her off and restart her a few times it'll run normal. I've asked a few mechanics and some say icp and some say cps. What do y'all think? ICP sounds right cuz if the hpop isn't maken pressure cuz of a bad ICP It won't put as much as a load on the started but cps makes sence cuz once if friers up it'll only run on a few cylinders. Or did a magic happen and I'm haven both go bad at the same time?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-15-2013, 11:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,462
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unplug the icp.


Does it run better?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-16-2013, 08:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

I unplugged it when I was tring to start it and it didn't seam to make a difference but the bottom of the plug was covered in oil so I might just replace that sensor anyways.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-16-2013, 09:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,462
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So sometimes it runs only on one bank of cylinders?

I would check all your harnesses at the valve covers, as well as the under valve cover harnesses. With intermittent issues like that, you may just have a loose plug. Hopefully, anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-16-2013, 10:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

Well I played with them while it was doing this and it made no difference. also I can't pull any codes cuz the cheak engine light goes off as soon as it runs normally and then there's no codes.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-18-2013, 10:30 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had 2 bad cps's and both times truck would start run then die and catch it self and keep running or die and stay dead then you would need to restart and run fine. Icp makes sense to me because if it reading inconsistently your truck would not know who what where when or how to do its fuel injection "ness" if its high mileage I would just replace it for the benefit of replacement anyway. Recently have a valve cover gasket goof up on me and when I described my running rough no power issue to our local psd mechanic he said gasket or icp turned out to be gasket but what your saying sound like icp to me
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-18-2013, 11:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,462
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You pulled the plug on the ICP sensor and it made no difference, the ICP sensor is not the culprit.

Unplugging the ICP sets a CEL, and will use default pressure values and other PCM inputs to keep the engine running. My truck has an erratic idle, if I unplug the ICP, it purrs like a kitten.

There are very few things that will cause an engine to run intermittently on one bank, and most of them are electrical, ie; harnesses, or IDM etc.....

Have you checked the IDM harness, and the harnesses UNDER the valve covers?

Last edited by ianstew; 03-18-2013 at 11:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

Well what I meant when I said I sounds like its runing on 4 just means that like when I jump the started selinoid I can hear injectors in both banks fire. I think I'm just gona replace both, notice today that oil leaks out of the top of my icp....


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-20-2013, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

New cps, run smoother and all but still got the problem... Why the hell is a icp so damn much. Like 100+ for a little sensor!?! I'm Gona pull it out try to clean it up. Same with the ipr.. If that don't work, well there gose my extra spending money for the next two weeks..


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-24-2013, 06:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CPS, or ICP?? Issue

Clean both sensors and hasn't fix the problem but it runs better.. Haha anyways today after I got it to fire up, (took about 10min) I was pulling up my road and it cut out for split second cel flashed then it ran fine for the rest of the day. My buddies dad said it most likely a IDM!? He's runs his own heavy duty diesel shop but has done some work on the 7.3 and he owns 3 of them lol.. What do y'all think, time to upgrade the IDM? Btw where is the IDM?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors