Loss of power--what is it? Help! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2007, 05:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Loss of power--what is it? Help!

Thanks for reading this.

I'm fairly new to deisels--this is my second. I have an early 99 7.3 that has been a champion (other than worse-than-expected mileage).

I started a new project out of town last week. Monday when I went to leave town with my trailer the truck was not running right--it idles VERY roughly, shaking the entire truck. When I push the go pedal, it slowly responds. When in gear, it almost doesn't at all. Then, as it begins to rev, it picks up momentum until the turbo kicks in, then she runs out ok. Even then, it does not have the power it should, it just runs smoothly. As I've been working out of town, I had no choice but to try running it. I've put a few hundred miles on her this way. I'm leaving town again now until Thurs. Then I'm going to try to get it to a mechanic, but I'm hoping not to get fleeced on the deal. If I knew what it was, I might fix her myself. I was told it was a bad injector, or a disconnected one. I looked under the driver side valve cover, and I couldn't see how any injector wires could become loose. I also tried unplugging the first two injectors, one at a time, and she started for both trials and seemed the same. It was late, I was tired, so I gave up. Any advice?? Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I'm working out of town I don't have time to dig into her.

Thanks again for any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2007, 02:33 PM
Premium Member

I am sorry I am not going to be much help, but hopefully I can breath some life into this thread because I am having the same issue as of today with my 1995 F-250 PSD.