Poor acceleration & strange engine noise?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 09:52 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Poor acceleration & strange engine noise??

Hello,
I am new to the Powerstroke world as I have just purchased a 1999 F-350. I hope someone can help as a few issues arose on my ride home. First let me tell you what I have. It's a 1999 F-350 Dually Lariat trim with the Centurion conversion. It has the 7.3L engine, automatic transmission, 4:10 limited slip rear. It is set up with a K&N cold air intake, a what looks like 4" (maybe 5") exhaust and an Edge Evolution programmer. Slightly oversized tires all around. The truck has 87,000 miles on it.
When I purchased the truck I did a walk around inspection, The truck started fine cold (upper 20's in temp), though it did blow a cloud of smoke (white) after about a minute or two it cleared. The transmission shifts fine through the gears in forward and reverse. The truck also starts fine when the engine is hot, no smoke. As the truck had no plates/tags I could only test drive it a short distance.
Here are my two issues, first once I started on my ride home it felt like there should be more power. Never having a Powerstroke before maybe it is normal. but acceleration is very sluggish. The Edge Evolution Programmer was showing a turbo boost pressure of only a few psi. The highest boost I received accelerating was 9 psi. I think it should be much higher. The programmer is set to stock, I think??? I have no manual and don't now how to adjust it. Could the programmer be keeping the boost pressure down? Or do I have other issues. I have yet to check all the intake boots for leaks (read that they could be a problem).