Need to re flash Computer after IDM Install? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 04:27 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Lifted02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Medford
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need to re flash Computer after IDM Install?

So it looks like My IDM is out in my 2002 f250 and I plan on doing it myself... I've been told I need to re flash the computer after install.... Do you need to re flash it or can you just install and be on your way???
Lifted02 is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 07:30 PM
Powerstroke Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,014
Thanks: 43
Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well, the idm needs to sync to the pcm. so that should make a reflash necessary. but i have installed new idn's without flashing. had no issues
are you using an alliant power unit?

how did you deduce the idm as the problem?

the richest ones are not those who have the most, but those who need the least

**i don't use capitals. deal with it**
kaya is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-21-2012, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Lifted02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Medford
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaya@bernhausen View Post
well, the idm needs to sync to the pcm. so that should make a reflash necessary. but i have installed new idn's without flashing. had no issues
are you using an alliant power unit?

how did you deduce the idm as the problem?
Took it in to one of my trusted mechanics and they told me thats one of the issues that started... I've seen the IDMs posted on diesel sites for about $240.... Better than the $915 ford wants
Lifted02 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-22-2012, 09:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Lifted02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Medford
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is there a way I can get a new IDM and just plug it in without taking the old one out to see if this fixes it? I've read that someplace.......
Lifted02 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-22-2012, 10:57 PM
Powerstroke Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,014
Thanks: 43
Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
of course. just disconnect the old one and connect the new one loosely, without removing the old one

the richest ones are not those who have the most, but those who need the least

**i don't use capitals. deal with it**
kaya is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-24-2012, 03:58 PM
Member
 
KMA Towing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Eden Prairie Mn
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
IDM's are plug and play. no flashing required.

however it is waaaay more likely that your trusted mechanic did not remove your valve covers to check the 2 UVCH plugs.
do that along with the $0.50 mod and see if that does not get your truck running again.

2000 F350 Crew Cab Dually 7.3L Diesel
Automatic Transmission
4X4
K&N FIPK Air Filter / Cold Air Intake
TS Performance 6 Position Chip
4" Suspension Lift
and a uncanny ability to drain my wallet
KMA Towing is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome