7.3 HORRIBLE Fuel Mileage!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 10:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
7.3 HORRIBLE Fuel Mileage!!!

Hello all, newbie here from all the way out in Saskatchewan Canada!

Not to sure if you would be able to help me out but I got an odd Ford 7.3 question for you! (I have done a ton of reading so far and I see others have also kind of had similar issues but cannot find the exact issue yet!)

I recently picked up an 02 Ford F-250, Crew Cab, Short Box, 4" lift on 35's, other then that bone stock, no chip, straight piped. On the highway fuel mileage was alright for being bone stock, I did 180 K on 30 bucks so not to bad considering the lift/tires and cold weather.

I recently found out if you go WOT only sometimes it will throw a CEL, loose all power and almost fall on its face, lift the throttle up to about half gas and it will gladly take off and run fine again.

I scanned the truck for codes and it isn't throwing anything... I have read non stop and cant figure out this issue. I replaced the fuel filter today and the issue is still there. (Heard it may also be the filter in the tank or maybe the FPR?)

At first I thought maybe when the glow plugs were done that an injector wire got pinched but wouldn't that make an issue all the time and not only just under WOT? (Originally a wire did get pinched but Ford replaced it and supposedly all was good to go...)

Like I said, the issue isn't all the time, just sometimes under WOT.

Also the fuel mileage in the city is HORRIBLE. I have now done 240K and only have a quarter tank of fuel remaining, the truck was full to start. ... (I know 7.3's aren't a real gem on fuel but it shouldn't be this bad?)