Fuel bowl heater is all bojangled! A little help? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2012, 07:03 AM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel bowl heater is all bojangled! A little help?

So last night driving home minding my own business the truck dies with no wait to start light and crank but no fire so i check number 30 and it's blown then I swap out number 30 20 amp fuse for my door lock 20 amp fuse and unplug my heater truck fires moves ten feet and blows the fuse again

Am I missing something?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:42 AM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bump! If I just replace the heater will everything be fine?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dover
Posts: 1,618
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you unplugged the heater, then replacing it will not change anything.
Are you sure you unplugged the heater?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:58 AM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pretty sure I did it was dark and I was a little angry that my truck died so I will double check this afternoon when I get home


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-29-2012, 09:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,874
Thanks: 1
Thanked 88 Times in 83 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If it IS unplugged, trace back the wires and see it it could be chafed as it passes over the valvecover (or any other place that look likely). Roll the bundle over or use a mirror and strong light.

Also, let's get a 30A back in there (without the heater I'm sure 20's enough, but, just because )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:06 AM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The book calls for a 20 amp though


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:07 AM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ill do some more digging when I get home


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-29-2012, 12:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,874
Thanks: 1
Thanked 88 Times in 83 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollister25073 View Post
The book calls for a 20 amp though
Oh sorry I though it was a 30A in position #30 (maybe I'm confusing the number with the rating)

Certainly NEVER put a 30A where a 20A belongs!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-29-2012, 02:04 PM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exactly I've played that game before when I was younger no good haha


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-29-2012, 02:41 PM
spool up that turbo!!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: ridgefield wa
Posts: 2,008
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did unplugg the heater last night but replaced the fuse again and it seems to be fine so far I don't want this thing to leave me stranded again


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors