Engine don't turn over Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2006, 08:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Engine don't turn over Help

I am real new to the site. I just registered this evening. I have visited for a few months. Great place to visit. I just bought a 1999 73 and I have to use the keyless entry to get it to turn over. If I unlock it and try to start it sometimes when I turn the key to start it is just dead. If I lock and unlock it the engine will turn over fine. Could this be something to do with the anti theft system? And if it is would there be a way to bypass it. Like I said I haven't had the truck just a few days. It is a 1999 F 350 4-4 dually with 145000 miles. It looks like it has had good care and it is RED Ha!!! I am new to the diesel trucks. Any ideas would be great. This is a great site and a lot of good trouble shooting . Keep up the good work.
99 Red Stroker
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-21-2006, 08:48 PM
Banned

sounds to me like there is an aftermarket alarm system installed. Often times they use the factory key fob to disarm the starter lockout and allow the engine to be started....look for any splicing into wiring under the dash in the drivers side of the dash...maybe even a small aftermarket module (usually about three inches square and about three quarters of an inch deep)
Old 07-21-2006, 09:33 PM

Smile Thank you Marc