1999 F350 7.3 fires but no start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 06:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1999 F350 7.3 fires but no start

Hey, new guy here...I have searched and googled, but I haven't found my answer. It's probably because I am new to diesels and don't know what I'm doing. I'm buying a work truck (99 F350 7.3 4x4) that has been sitting for a few years. I read the basics on starting it and did all that. The tach is jumping a little and fuel is there but don't know pressure. I here it wanting to start but won't. It turns over, stumbles a few times and goes back to just turning over. I feel like its going to start the next go around and does the same thing. I ran out of time today and going to try again in the am, but does this sound familiar to anyone? Am I close or do I still have a lot to check. It's more about the challenge and I'm still reading, but if anyone has some insight it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Also trying to figure out this phone app. Sorry if I posted in the wrong spot.

Sent from my iPhone using Autoguide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2012, 07:47 PM

Not an answer for you... but someone with a scanner would really help tell you what is and isn't happening. There maybe a member close to you that could scan it for you?

Travis T

Old 11-11-2012, 08:09 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Thanks

Old 11-11-2012, 08:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

when you say sitting for a few years, did you drain the tank? Old fuel becomes pretty nasty . Might want to drain the tank and change out the fuel filter if you havent done that already. Take a look at the fuel filter when you pull it, if your trying to start it with that old fuel i bet its fouled up.