Is this Safe Mode? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 09-25-2012, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is this Safe Mode?

I accelerated normally from a stop light and lost power. The engine was still running but at idle speed. Pressing the accelerator had no effect. The service engine soon light was on. I pulled over and restarted the truck and it ran normally the rest of the way home (about a mile). Service engine soon light was off. Its a 2000 F250 Super Duty 7.3 with 152K miles. This was the 2nd time it happened.

Is this what is described as "Safe Mode". Is there anywhere I can go for a list of possible causes. I will have the engine scanned for codes. Can anyone tell me if the Advance or Autozone scanners will work on this engine. If not, what do I need.
johntorg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 09-25-2012, 07:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by johntorg View Post
I accelerated normally from a stop light and lost power. The engine was still running but at idle speed. Pressing the accelerator had no effect. The service engine soon light was on. I pulled over and restarted the truck and it ran normally the rest of the way home (about a mile). Service engine soon light was off. Its a 2000 F250 Super Duty 7.3 with 152K miles. This was the 2nd time it happened.

Is this what is described as "Safe Mode". Is there anywhere I can go for a list of possible causes. I will have the engine scanned for codes. Can anyone tell me if the Advance or Autozone scanners will work on this engine. If not, what do I need.
Those stores can't scan it.
You might have a throttle position sensor issue, under valve cover harness issue, or many other things. Safe mode is rare on these.
Auto Engunuity is amazing

I made my Samsung SGH-I997 send this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jesilvas is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 09-26-2012, 05:26 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you cant afford AE, go to Ford or a local diesel shop and have it scanned. Sounds like a TPS though.
85_305 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 10-02-2012, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought a Superchips Vivid Linq and can now scan for codes. So far, the problem hasn't recurred.
johntorg is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 10-02-2012, 06:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You may or may not get a code. Live data is the best way to tell

I made my Samsung SGH-I997 send this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jesilvas is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 10-02-2012, 06:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The 2000 F250 Super Duty seems to have very few PIDs available through the Linq. How else can I get live data?
johntorg is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 10-02-2012, 06:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jesilvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe it's the Linq that won't monitor much.
What all does it give you?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2000 F-350 Lariat Super Duty, Dually, CCLB, 7.3L
4R100, 2wd
330,000 + miles
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jesilvas is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 10-02-2012, 07:01 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have to hook it up in the truck to see but it was only 1 page of items. The TPS was definitely not included. The ones I remember are: Vehicle speed, RPM, oil Temp, boost, exhaust pressure and some injection PIDs, There was also nothing related to the transmission.

I searched but couldn't find anything for a complete list of the PIDs available on the 2000 F250 SD, so I don't know if its the Linq or just little data available in that model year.

Does anyone have a link to the PIDs that should be available?
johntorg is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 10-03-2012, 04:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Bragg, NC/Buff, NY/Midlothian, VA
Posts: 5,630
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Superchips = Super****s
85_305 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 10-03-2012, 05:00 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not much help. I still need to know what PIDs are available on the 2000 F250 SD 7.3.
johntorg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome