New to Forum / Just bought my 1st Diesel & have some diagnostic questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 06:38 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation New to Forum / Just bought my 1st Diesel & have some diagnostic questions

Hello all.
For starters, I'm a seasoned Gasoline Mechanic, in no way am I knowledgeable about diesels, although they seem fairly simplistic.

That being said, I purchased an 01 Ford F350 King Cab LB 4x4 w/ 153k Miles Sunday.
Truck was a Landscape truck & pushed a Plow half its life, A bit rough, but the price was right & it Ran, just had a few symptoms that didn't seem to be of major concern after consulting w/ a diesel mech buddy of mine while haggling over the truck price w/ seller.

So, I bought it. Has a re-man Jasper Trans, Engine runs w/ a Miss. It also smokes constantly. Scanned truck while looking at it & no codes present.

Yesterday, took to my buddies shop, we found a dead injector #8, Oil was flowing, but when unplugged it made no difference.

We changed the injector, (Some oil obviously got into cylinder - Im learning as I go), New injector installed, Fired truck up, still had miss (but made a difference for a seconds - assuming the oil in the cylinder helped bump compression & seal rings?). Checked all other 7 Injectors, all good. When unplugging them while running they cause engine stumble, #8 does nothing. If #8 is unplugged while running, the oil stops flowing. So, diagnosis says (per friend) injector is working correctly & I have a dead cylinder. Going to do a compression test here this morning.

My Diesel friend says heads are easy to do, but I'm curious w/ the low mileage, what would go wrong in the Head or Rings & why? Truck is stock, no mods, all original, just a tough life.