7.3 2001 Excursion Oil leak - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 10:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation 7.3 2001 Excursion Oil leak

I have an 01 Excursion and I'm fairly new to the diesel scene. Just some info on the truck; it has a TS performance 6 gun switch, custom CAI, 4' straight pipe, Banks down pipe and waste gait eliminator, 4:56 gears, Custom drive shaft, CCV vent mod, to name a few. The problem I'm having is that initially the shop I took it to stated that the leak came from the O rings on the pedestal. So those where replaced and still leaking. Then found out it was the EBV arm on the pedestal, so replaced the whole unit and all brand new rings all around. Still leaking but not as much. The other issue is the previous owner also has a tube like the one for the CCV vent mod coming out of the oil fill cap as well, which also has a little oil weeping out. The tech said he never saw that before. Have you guys ever seen this? Also would it hurt anything by putting a regular cover back on it? Im losing my mind over this. It has good power and drives well but the leak drives me nuts. Im also wondering if there is to much pressure in the crank case due the tune being to high maybe?? Again just looking for HELP
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2012, 11:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
pics of the cover?
Old 07-18-2012, 01:52 AM

A tune shouldn't be able to put pressure into the crank case. The cap would just be another case vent. Maybe the po thought it was a good idea to have a vent for each valve cover? I don't see any reason you couldn't put a regular cap back on.