Newbie having issues stalls under 1/2 tank - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2006, 08:09 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newbie having issues stalls under 1/2 tank

Hi there and great forum. I am new to the diesel world, but will be knee deep in it soon. I just purchased a 1995 Ford Super Duty "Incomplete Truck" with the 7.3 DI Turbo. The rear tank was removed, as it was connected to the wrecker bed that was on it, and the lines were plugged with a bolt, and a screw driver!? The return line on the front tank had a crack in it, but was not leaking. I checked everything as thoroughly as possible before purchasing, and it looks to be in great condition, albeit high mileage and bad jerry riggin.(306,000mi) The truck ran great for the first 130 miles. As soon as I got below half tank (and on a hill) the truck lost power and started to decelerate. I pulled over and found out there was air in the line (purged at the schrader valve on the drivers' side) and after getting the air out, it ran great. I pulled in to the next fuel station, and filled up. The truck ran great, until I got below 1/2 tank. same thing. I pulled over, started going down in the gears and held the throttle to the floor, and it kept alive (barely) for about 1.5-2 miles and it slowly began to come back to life. This routine happened once more before I started to fill up every 100mi. Also, unrelated, what is the big hose going into the top of the tank, and what is the name of the part that goes into the tank? I need to mount the rear tank, and that part is broken. Thanks for any help.
Dan Beyer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Banned