Head and Gasket Problems? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2012, 11:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Head and Gasket Problems?

Hey this is my first time posting, however I am a huge fan of the site and have searched and solved problems with help of the forum for years now and brought many friends to this site. I have done a good bit of searching for any help on this however I decided to bite the bullet and post to get some advice specifically on my problem.

I have a 2001 f250 7.3l with approx. 120,000 miles on it. At 100,000 miles i had oil appear into my coolant reservoir. After doing some research I ended up being forced by my dad to take it to a diesel mechanic. Turns out the driver side head was cracked so another used head was installed for $1300. 19,000 miles later I noticed a small trickle of antifreeze running down my oil filter, and oil that had collected on top of the fuel filter. After doing a dumb thing and driving it 200 miles more I had the cruise set at 65mph and the speed started dropping,and the service engine light flickered a few times. The oil had gotten so low that the safety feature(i call it the safety feature, I'm sure there is a better term) kicked in to where the truck eventually wouldn't run.