Truck spit and sputterd, now won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 04:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck spit and sputterd, now won't start

OK huys, I'm kind of new to Diesels in general. My girlfriends 2001 7.3 F350 was running fine yesterday. She stopped for fast food and shut the truck off in the drive through. when she started it back up, ut started running really rough, like misfiring real bad. She couldn't get it over 20MPH all the way home.

When I started it, it was still rough, but leveled out for a min. I shut it off till today, now it won't start at all. It cranks and will sometimes try to fire, but immediatly dies. It threw 2 codes, P1316 (ugh), and P0541 (AIH).

I'm wondering where I should start with this? I've did the 50 cent fix a couple months ago, so it shouldn't be that.

Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2012, 04:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

How was the fuel level?
I'd check the UVCHs anyway.
Old 02-12-2012, 05:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

It's sitting at 3/4 of a tank right now. You really think they could come unplugged even with the quarters in them? It's got 253,000 miles and when I didi them, they were only slightly unplugged. It was missing on a couple cylinders, but made it from texas to South Dakota that way. It's been running perfect since.
Old 02-12-2012, 05:17 PM

Not just unplugged but the connections under the VC too.
If you pull the fuel filter and drain the bowl, you can turn the key on and the pump should almost perfectly fill the bowl in one cycle if working right.
Old 02-12-2012, 05:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie