2003 7.3 Powerstroke - Electrical Problem? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2006, 05:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 2003 7.3 Powerstroke - Electrical Problem?

Please help!

I was driving along just fine when all the dash gauges stopped working and no throttle. Sounds like a simple fuse problem but I can't find a bad one.

The engine starts fine each time, and idles great but no gauges, no throttle.

Is there another fusebox other than the one under the steering wheel?

I am missing something obvious, I think.

Thanks,

Orin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-30-2006, 05:42 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you have two problems. first is an open fuse, i cant remember which one....

What caused this is the wires for the OD button. they come out of the shift lever under the trim for the steering column. if the wires get frayed, they will then short to the steering column and cause your EXACT issue. i would put good money on it that this is your problem. if they are not frayed very much, you can tape it all up. if they are really frayed, that shift lever will need to be replaced........Marc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the response, mschn99. I exposed the OD wires and checked everything around the steering column--- everything looks in great shape, no frays, bad insulation or the like. I can't imagine what fuse would protect the gauges other than ones labeled "instrument cluster" (there are 2 10amp ones)but I will pull out everything tomorrow and check each one. I am still stumped on the cause of this. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:08 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i will all but garantee that there is an exposed wire on that shift lever wiring. I have seen this a bunch of times, and yes, it does take the instrement operation as well........you may need to look very close to find the short, but this is where the problem should be.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:10 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
and yes, there should be a fuse panel under the hood too........but i the fuse that is blown should be behind that knee panel if i remember right....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
silly me!

Turns out it was a 10 Amp fuse labeled "Ignition switch Run/Start feed" (#45).

I hadn't checked that one because the start sequence was fine. Anyway, still don't know what triggered it. . .all wiring is fine after lots of checking.

Thanks for the input!

Now.. . .what do I do about the fact that I disabled the door chime (working under there with it open was driving me crazy) by latching it without engaging the receiver bar on the rear doors(supercab) . I think the latch went too far and is locked by a notch on the cam?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-29-2010, 06:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
insturment cluster not working

Instrument cluster not working all fuses ok, truck runs fine turn lights on and instrument cluster lights up still. How do I check instrument cluster which pins provide power to gauges? Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors