starting issues with my 7.3 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 03:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
starting issues with my 7.3

It seems as everyone has had some starting issues with their truck but after reading for hours I still don't seem to find a post with anything that matches my exact issues. I have a 2000 7.3 4wd that has 160000 miles on it. I bought it in march of last year and it is my first diesel so I am still learning. When the temperatures started to drop in november to about 40 degrees F I would start my truck and it would run rough and if I didn't let it run for a while it would choke going down the road. I would accelerate and then my rpms would dump and the truck would chug like it was starving then rev way up, the whole time never changing how hard I was in the acclerator. After about a month of this It then started firing up then running a little rough and then level out, kick into high idle, then run AWFUL shake the whole cab and on some days stall. The whole time not plugging it in, then the stalling got more consistant then I moved back home from college and could plug it in and we were back to firing up when it was warm with no problem. Now it got down below 5 degrees F and the truck even after being plugged in all night takes 7-10 seconds even after cycling the glow plugs 5 times. when it finally started today it rean like CRAP like it had air in it after nursing it through for 10 minutes it evened out and started to run smoothly, I shut it of and then after one glow plug cycle i tried to start it warm and it still took 5-7 seconds for it to fire. I have just changed the oil today and the CAM sensor and it has two good batteries and it has a brand new glow plug relay. White smoke does come out only after it fires. I am still new to this diesel so any help is app