2000 F250 died, no power to fuel pump???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2011, 10:59 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2000 F250 died, no power to fuel pump????

Hey guys, was driving my truck yesterday and came up to a stoplight and the truck died. No signs of it running bad or anything just died. Had it towed home and started looking at it last night. I changed the cam sensor, no effect. I then checked to see if the fuel pump was running, nothing so i replaced that still nothing. SO i decided to start testing the power wire and found that the plug wasn’t making good connection. So i cut the plug and reconnect the wires still nothing. What’s next??????? im trying to test fuese and relays now thanks kyle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-26-2011, 11:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Just realize, your pump is not powered All the time. The PCM turns it On/Off, through a relay, and the only time you're likely to see power in that wire is for the first few seconds after you roll the key from Off to Run.

If there's still no power then, then I'd be looking at the Fuel Shut Off (safety sw) behind the passenger "kick panel", then a fuse, then the relay (I think it's behind the radio in a 2000)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-26-2011, 12:00 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 10,846
Thanks: 4
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you have a scanner or programmer to read codes?

I ask because my truck did the same thing. Just died. Got it home and I went to hook up my programmer, it said it couldn't communicate with the truck. Led me to believe the PCM toasted. The shop tested it and sure enough, dead. $640 (parts and labor) later - all better!!!

I did the KOEO thing to listen for the pump as described above, no sound, no vibration.

Not saying yours is the same, but the symptoms sound familiar.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-26-2011, 12:07 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRalPh View Post
Just realize, your pump is not powered All the time. The PCM turns it On/Off, through a relay, and the only time you're likely to see power in that wire is for the first few seconds after you roll the key from Off to Run.

If there's still no power then, then I'd be looking at the Fuel Shut Off (safety sw) behind the passenger "kick panel", then a fuse, then the relay (I think it's behind the radio in a 2000)

Yea, thats the only time i check for power. i have someone is the cab switch the key on and off.

I already check the saftey switch its down not in the up position.

thanks kyle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-26-2011, 12:10 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrutyPS View Post
Do you have a scanner or programmer to read codes?

I ask because my truck did the same thing. Just died. Got it home and I went to hook up my programmer, it said it couldn't communicate with the truck. Led me to believe the PCM toasted. The shop tested it and sure enough, dead. $640 (parts and labor) later - all better!!!

I did the KOEO thing to listen for the pump as described above, no sound, no vibration.

Not saying yours is the same, but the symptoms sound familiar.
yes i tried reading it with two differnt readers. Mine and my firends. Mine said it had a linking error, my friends said no codes then error.

Antoher thing is i dont have the WTS light on my dash???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-26-2011, 12:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rock Trucks View Post
Antoher thing is i dont have the WTS light on my dash???
Whoa!!! There you go.... Your PCM isn't running. Most likely, a fuse, most likely fuse #30 because of a shorted fuel heater. If so, unplug the heater element in the bottom of the filter housing and replaced the fuse. If not, look closely at fuses #19 & 22 and then Every Other Fuse.

Next, if you any type of tuning, remove it as a test. Then be sure the PCM connector is tight & dry....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-26-2011, 06:40 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Problem fixed! ! Pulled pcm and took chip out, fired right up. Only prob is truck is slow as **** lol thanks for the help guys. Kyle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:55 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok guys been running the truck without the chip for a month now. I need to put it back in truck is slow as helll lol. Now what do i need to do to clean the computer and terminals? whats the best way to get it all clean and keep it clean? tape the hole shut on the computer once chip is back in?

thanks kyle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-27-2011, 12:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bump. . anyone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-27-2011, 03:28 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rock Trucks View Post
ok guys been running the truck without the chip for a month now. I need to put it back in truck is slow as helll lol. Now what do i need to do to clean the computer and terminals? whats the best way to get it all clean and keep it clean? tape the hole shut on the computer once chip is back in?

thanks kyle
Yup. It really shouldn't be dirty... but wipe the contacts with a dry paper towel or maybe a little alcohol on the paper towel. Make sure it's dry before you put the chip on tho. Make sure to mount the PCM WITHOUT the black box....and just tape the chip in place with electrical and/or duct tape.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors