2000 F250 died, no power to fuel pump???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 10:59 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2000 F250 died, no power to fuel pump????

Hey guys, was driving my truck yesterday and came up to a stoplight and the truck died. No signs of it running bad or anything just died. Had it towed home and started looking at it last night. I changed the cam sensor, no effect. I then checked to see if the fuel pump was running, nothing so i replaced that still nothing. SO i decided to start testing the power wire and found that the plug wasn’t making good connection. So i cut the plug and reconnect the wires still nothing. What’s next??????? im trying to test fuese and relays now thanks kyle
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 11:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Just realize, your pump is not powered All the time. The PCM turns it On/Off, through a relay, and the only time you're likely to see power in that wire is for the first few seconds after you roll the key from Off to Run.

If there's still no power then, then I'd be looking at the Fuel Shut Off (safety sw) behind the passenger "kick panel", then a fuse, then the relay (I think it's behind the radio in a 2000)
NoRalPh is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 12:00 PM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 14,968
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Thanks: 76
Thanked 455 Times in 439 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you have a scanner or programmer to read codes?

I ask because my truck did the same thing. Just died. Got it home and I went to hook up my programmer, it said it couldn't communicate with the truck. Led me to believe the PCM toasted. The shop tested it and sure enough, dead. $640 (parts and labor) later - all better!!!

I did the KOEO thing to listen for the pump as described above, no sound, no vibration.

Not saying yours is the same, but the symptoms sound familiar.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck: Ol' Guy Garage
Tow Toy: Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 12:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRalPh View Post
Just realize, your pump is not powered All the time. The PCM turns it On/Off, through a relay, and the only time you're likely to see power in that wire is for the first few seconds after you roll the key from Off to Run.

If there's still no power then, then I'd be looking at the Fuel Shut Off (safety sw) behind the passenger "kick panel", then a fuse, then the relay (I think it's behind the radio in a 2000)

Yea, thats the only time i check for power. i have someone is the cab switch the key on and off.

I already check the saftey switch its down not in the up position.

thanks kyle
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperCrutyPS View Post
Do you have a scanner or programmer to read codes?

I ask because my truck did the same thing. Just died. Got it home and I went to hook up my programmer, it said it couldn't communicate with the truck. Led me to believe the PCM toasted. The shop tested it and sure enough, dead. $640 (parts and labor) later - all better!!!

I did the KOEO thing to listen for the pump as described above, no sound, no vibration.

Not saying yours is the same, but the symptoms sound familiar.
yes i tried reading it with two differnt readers. Mine and my firends. Mine said it had a linking error, my friends said no codes then error.

Antoher thing is i dont have the WTS light on my dash???
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 12:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,193
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 232 Times in 223 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rock Trucks View Post
Antoher thing is i dont have the WTS light on my dash???
Whoa!!! There you go.... Your PCM isn't running. Most likely, a fuse, most likely fuse #30 because of a shorted fuel heater. If so, unplug the heater element in the bottom of the filter housing and replaced the fuse. If not, look closely at fuses #19 & 22 and then Every Other Fuse.

Next, if you any type of tuning, remove it as a test. Then be sure the PCM connector is tight & dry....
NoRalPh is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 05-26-2011, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Problem fixed! ! Pulled pcm and took chip out, fired right up. Only prob is truck is slow as **** lol thanks for the help guys. Kyle
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 06-24-2011, 06:55 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok guys been running the truck without the chip for a month now. I need to put it back in truck is slow as helll lol. Now what do i need to do to clean the computer and terminals? whats the best way to get it all clean and keep it clean? tape the hole shut on the computer once chip is back in?

thanks kyle
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 06-27-2011, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bump. . anyone
Black Rock Trucks is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 06-27-2011, 03:28 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to ToMang07
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Rock Trucks View Post
ok guys been running the truck without the chip for a month now. I need to put it back in truck is slow as helll lol. Now what do i need to do to clean the computer and terminals? whats the best way to get it all clean and keep it clean? tape the hole shut on the computer once chip is back in?

thanks kyle
Yup. It really shouldn't be dirty... but wipe the contacts with a dry paper towel or maybe a little alcohol on the paper towel. Make sure it's dry before you put the chip on tho. Make sure to mount the PCM WITHOUT the black box....and just tape the chip in place with electrical and/or duct tape.
ToMang07 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome