Help, mystery leak....with pics - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 07:35 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help, mystery leak....with pics

I'm a bit stumped on what's leaking. I don't believe it to be oil because I'm due for a change and can see that the engine oil is black. The fluid leaking is just about crystal clear. It's coming from the tq converter cover so I pulled the cover off, and now I can see it drip from the lip of the oil pan directly below the rear main seal. I don't think the rear main is leaking as I would expect a much darker fluid since my oil is ready for a change. I'm new to this truck but I'm also guessing that the turbo uses engine oil so I don't think it's the pedestal either. Correct me if I'm wrong, not 100% sure about that statement.

My first thought was either brake fluid or power steering fluid. I checked the level of brake fluid and it looks fine. Also pumped up the brakes to see if it would leak faster but it did not.

Power steering fluid....has a red tint to it so it's not that

Trans fluid...nope, it's tinted red as well.

Diesel fuel...doesn't smell like diesel at all and the consistency is more like brake fluid.

The truck is an automatic so there is no hydraulic clutch to leak.

Looking at the pic showing all the fluids. The only one it looks close to is the brake fluid. Is there another fluid I have over looked?
Attached Thumbnails
Help, mystery leak....with pics-fluids.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2011, 07:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
is there any fluid in the valley?
Old 05-26-2011, 08:19 AM