03 7.3l idle but wont rev - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2011, 05:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
03 7.3l idle but wont rev

i have an 03 f 250 7.3l will fire right up to an idle. press the pedal wont rev up. bought new pedal no change. cant seem to figure it out. been told a many of things like boost sensor, icm, tps. trying to get a better and narrower opinion than to buy all these parts to fix it. new to here and new to powerstrokes what a accelerating welcome. haha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-18-2011, 05:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Carlyle, IL
Posts: 2,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
throttle position sensor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:02 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,497
Thanks: 5
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Check your fuses and check the wiring in the column that goes to the OD on/off switch
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i didnt think was injection control module because that wouldnt even send fuel to start it up right? i will try the throttle position sensor and see what happens from there thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
all fuses are good the over drive column switch has been cut off wires are still there bought the truck to fix and have done all i know trying to get advise
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Carlyle, IL
Posts: 2,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Check your fuses and check the wiring in the column that goes to the OD on/off switch
lol wth would that have to do with no throttle response me lost....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:10 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,497
Thanks: 5
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buffalo444 View Post
lol wth would that have to do with no throttle response me lost....
Because the wiring for the TPS is also part of the wiring to the OD switch. OD switch wire breaks or rubs through, blows fuse, no throttle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
idk but asume truck has had some problem with overdrive switch cause it is no longer there just two or three wires hangin.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Carlyle, IL
Posts: 2,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Because the wiring for the TPS is also part of the wiring to the OD switch. OD switch wire breaks or rubs through, blows fuse, no throttle
lol oh ok... good thing I havent slept in 24 hours or I wouldnt have an excuse for being a tard lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by meeks44 View Post
idk but asume truck has had some problem with overdrive switch cause it is no longer there just two or three wires hangin.
Lol well then a yup, i believe a problem be there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-18-2011, 06:14 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,497
Thanks: 5
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by meeks44 View Post
idk but asume truck has had some problem with overdrive switch cause it is no longer there just two or three wires hangin.
I'd pull the column cover and inspect the wiring for chaffing. If you see any, repair wire and install new switch. I'll bet it was removed because it kept popping the fuse and the previous owner didn't know where to look.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors