Please help, bus still not running. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 01-31-2011, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Please help, bus still not running.

Ok, I've posted here asking this before, but I really need help.

2002 powerstroke e350.

was running great, had just installed a TS Chip, bus was strong as heck. Would actually spin tire..

Was driving down the road, and it just quit.

Ok, so, since then, I've changed the CPS
Added 2qts oil
NO codes stored
2 brand new top of the line walmart batteries.
New fuel filter
Definitely fuel going to the head, checked pump, checked filter, removed test port on head to make sure it has fuel.
Probably needs an oil change, but shop said that shouldn't stop it from running.
Have checked every safety switch on the bus to make sure nothing there is stopping it from running.
It has oil in the HPOP resevoir
Bus will run on ether, just a tiny sniff, after glow plugs were done cycling.

So, as it cranks over, absolutely nothing, not even a glimmer of hope that it will start. tank is full of oil, no blown fuses, I had found a blown one under the hood, But I think that was for the AC compressor, as my compressor was removed. But, I replaced that fuse, it hasn't blown again, and there are no other blown fuses anywhere, all checked by my fluke meter.

Ok, now,
what I just noticed,

at the valve cover, I only get 4.4v DC power to the center wire. I got nothing AC power. do you think there is something wrong here?

Please guys, we are taking the bus on a family vacation in 3wks, and we really don't want to have to spend the $$ to put it in the shop.

Thanks guys,
Len
thejunkman2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-31-2011, 03:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GoldieStroker944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: scottsbluff,ne
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
honestly i would say its the chip my pickup did this twice to me...the chip needs to be taken out and and cleaned again until the problem subsides...just my 2c


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2003 7.3L
Crew Cab Short box
Lariat
Cowl (functional)hood
315/75-16 wild coutry A/T's
Hypertech power programmer 3
T.S 6pos
stock,high idle,50,75,100,140
AFE stage 1
Foil delete
MBRP Cool Duals 6" tips
Sirius sat radio

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoldieStroker944 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-31-2011, 03:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry, forgot to say, chip was almost brand new, 3wks maybe. As soon as the bus died, I removed it, and tried starting it up again.
thejunkman2005 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-31-2011, 03:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
GoldieStroker944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: scottsbluff,ne
Posts: 1,086
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hmmm did you by chance un hook the batterys and let the set for like 10min??


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2003 7.3L
Crew Cab Short box
Lariat
Cowl (functional)hood
315/75-16 wild coutry A/T's
Hypertech power programmer 3
T.S 6pos
stock,high idle,50,75,100,140
AFE stage 1
Foil delete
MBRP Cool Duals 6" tips
Sirius sat radio

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GoldieStroker944 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-02-2011, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhooked them when I put in the new batteries. I ordered a new IDM, figured that is what controlled the power to the injectors. I read, a fuse, a relay, or the IDM could be bad.

Fuses were all good, Relays were checked with an ohm meter, and a 12v battery activating it.

What do you guys think? Am I barking up the right tree?
thejunkman2005 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,167
Thanks: 6
Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I know you said you were getting fuel into the bowl but, have you actually checked fuel pressure?
dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-02-2011, 04:45 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,167
Thanks: 6
Thanked 144 Times in 135 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Should be around 45-50 PSI, I think
dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-02-2011, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i don't have a guage, but I pulled the rear port on the drivers side head, and fuel went spurting everywhere, then I turned the key on, and fuel came shooting out, I couldn't put the plug back in with the key on. I don't know if I have 45lbs, but there is quite a bit. I have a fuel guage for EFI cars, like my old race car, but it doesn't plug into the powerstroke. The I pulled the outlet hose on the fuel pump, and filled a big coffee can in about 5min. And the fuel flow never slowed down. Kept pumping a continuous speed the entire time I was testing it.....

That's the best diagnostic I could do without a fuel guage.

My obd2 tester is the torque app on my droid running through a bluetooth transmitor.

Len
thejunkman2005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome