Listen to this problem...... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2005, 04:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Listen to this problem......

I am new to the ford powerstroke, so take it easy on me. I purchased a used f250 superduty 4x4 automatic, lariat, last June. Excellent truck with 85,000miles on it and no problems. There is alot of aftermarket "stuff" on it. Banks stainless exhaust and muffler, pillar guages, turbo temp monitor, transmission module, banks turbo, and banks superchip that I found in the glove box in it's package. After running the truck for 6 weeks with no problems and the chip not installed, I put the chip in. Vehicle ran fine for 3 weeks or so then the service engine soon light came on. Vehicle still ran fine, would shut off and restart and the SES light would go off. Few days later it would go on. Wait, here is the good part. In the morning, start truck and shut door and truck would shut off. Get back in, start fine, no SES light on, shut door, truck shuts off. So, I pop the hood, looking for God only knows, nothing weird, I guess, close hood, engine shuts off. Too funny. Did this only in morning. Once when leaving house went 1/2 block and truck died. I started noticing when hitting a little bump is when the SES light would come on. Truck only died once when driving. I pulled the chip out after a couple weeks of this, and no problems since. I know it's something to do with the chip. Does a factory sensor need replaced to a more performance sensor? Truck need reprogramed? Any ideas? I know to leave the chip out, but I like the performance horsepower, and the increase in mileage. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-01-2005, 04:44 AM
Gun Nut

Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger