Glow plug system issues - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:23 AM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow plug system issues

Ok this isnt the normal "my truck wont start when its cold" thread I know why it wont start

Ive done the tests, My glow plugs arent being activated at the relay, now before your say its the relay and replace it, ive got 2 codes saying both GP banks are out, now how can i be getting GP codes if i dont have a GPM! if this is the issue how can i fix it?
its a Early 99 California model, so its got just one relay in the valley for the GPs it looks to also have a GPR shunt, i dont know the point of the shunt and dont understand it but it looks like its needed. HELP!!!! its getting colder and i need to fix this asap.

btw i only get the GP codes when the Chip is taken out, but the GPs dont work either way The PCM was replaced at a shop right when i got the truck the put the PCM according the VIN that should be in the truck. but it had hard start issue before that, i just let it go because it was getting to be summertime
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:39 AM
shhhhh, can you hear it?

 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: wichita,ks
Posts: 2,236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
your harness could be bad since its not the relay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:48 AM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It could be just the relay. I don't know. The fact I'm getting codes is what is confusing me I should not be able to get GP codes at all unless I had a GPM

I've tested the relay and wasn't getting power to the gp side with the key on. But if the PCM isn't telling the gps to work then I don't know how to test it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors