injector & A-E help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2010, 05:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
injector & A-E help

First off I want to say thank you to all the members on this board. I have found an amazing amount of info and help on here. I am no stranger to the diesel world, however I am fairly new to the Powerstroke community and brand new to AutoEnginuity.
I have a '02 7.3L that wouldn't start unless plugged in and cranked on forever. When it would start, it would smoke a white/blue cloud until warmed up well. A new glow plug relay fixed the starting issue, but the smoking continues for miles down the road until the engine is hot. When first starting down the road I will get an engine light on when heavily accelerating. I purchased A-E today. Did not find any codes for the engine light. I ran an injector buzz test as well as a cylinder contribution test. These are the results:

P1272 Cylinder #2 High to Low Side Open
P1277 Cylinder #7 High to Low Side Open
P1273 Cylinder #3 High to Low Side Open
P1274 Cylinder #4 High to Low Side Open
P1294 Injector High Side Open - Bank 2

P0284 Cylinder 8 Injector Circuit Contribution / Balance Fault

Does this mean I've got 5 injectors on their way out or bad? Does it point to a valve cover wire harness issue as well?

Any input or help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-12-2010, 08:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

The #8 issue is a non-issue, as the Long Lead injector on the later trucks tends to throw the balance off a bit.

the P1294 suggests either a bad connection at the valve cover, or a bad harness under the cover.