Help diagnosing AE codes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2010, 01:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help diagnosing AE codes

I have a 2001 van with a Powerstroke. I have recently had some trouble with very rough running and even at times it won't even start. I got an AE scan tool and these are the results I got. I've worked on Cummins engines quite a bit, but I'm new to the Powerstroke and I would appreciate some help.

The injector buzz test seemed normal to me. All of the injectors made the same noise.

P1294 injector high side open-bank 2
P1670 electronic feedback signal not detected
P1316 injector driver module codes detected

Cylinder Contribution Tests
1st time P0263 cylinder 1 injector circuit contribution/balance fault
2nd time P0278 cylinder 6 injector circuit contribution/balance fault

The common theme here is that there is something going on with the injectors. I just don't know enough to decide based on these results if it is just a bad injector, a bad sensor somewhere, or a fuel pump/pressure issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-08-2010, 05:41 PM
Powerstroke Techie

What codes did you get on your buzz test? The 1294 means that you have an issue with the power circuit to your left hand bank of injectors from the idm (injector driver module) pink/yellow wire. The 1670 means that the idm is not receiving a signal from the injectors that they fired. The 1316 means that there are idm codes but you need to run a buzz test to retrieve them. I would be looking at the uvc (under valve cover) harness on the left bank.
Old 09-08-2010, 06:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie