Fuel Smell in Cab - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 08:43 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel Smell in Cab

I am new to powerstrokes and diesels, but not mechanical things.

2001 Excursion 7.3 stock. 180K miles. It appears to have lived an easy well cared for life.

I just got this truck and so far I have replaced the front shocks and (carefully) pressure washed the engine bay (engine cool).

I have just filled the tank with fuel for the first time.

I have noticed that the cab smells like unburnt diesel, I have read somewhere here that this is indicitive of cracked up-pipes, which I take are the exhaust to turbo pipes. Is that right? And the best repair is the international pipes.

I haven't had the truck long enough to know what "normal" power or fuel consumtion is...but the lieometer says about 17mpg mixed city, and I seem to get in 19-21 on straight streches of higway, which seems to fall into line with what I have read (short streaches only, I haven't driven this truck much).

There was an oilly film through most of the engine compartment. The worst spot was the lower passenger site intercooler boot area. I cleaned the engine to determine the source(s) of the leak.

Is there anything else that I can trouble shoot that would confirm this, or is there any other cause?

Thanks for helping out a noobie!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-15-2010, 08:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

If it's unburnt diesel, then it can't be the exhaust pipes leaking. That's burnt diesel.
The oil is probably from the crank case venting into the air intake tube before the turbo. Bad design idea. Nothing bad really.