Starts when cold shuts down when warm - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 05-28-2010, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unhappy Starts when cold shuts down when warm

I have a 04 7.3 F250. I was driving along then vehicle shut down like ran out of fuel.
Towed to mecahanical garage, have replaced CAP sensor, HPOP sensor, engine coolant sensor appears to be okay when checked, checked IDM, checked computer, replaced air filter, fuel filter, changed oil and filter, checked relays and all seem to be okay. Fuel pressure is reading 60psi when running and when it shuts down. Have ordered replacement oil temp sensor to be fitted Monday.
The vehicle starts when cold, then when it warms up (about 15to 20 minutes it shuts down.
Can anyone give me any other suggestions, the mechanic is scratching his head in bewilderment.

*****Thanks for your responses folks, cannot believe for 4 weeks it was in the garage because of a faulty solnoid on the IPR. Gotta get me a decent scan tool so it doesn't happen again. Just glad to be back on the road. Ye hah!

Last edited by alrocky; 06-21-2010 at 11:44 PM. Reason: Update back on the road
alrocky is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 05-29-2010, 06:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 539
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First of all - you do NOT have a 04 7.3 F250. The 7.3 was discontinued mid run in 2003 and I have one of the last 7.3 trucks to roll off of the line. So verify what motor / year you have. It will make a big difference in diagnosis.

2003 F-250 XLT CrewCab 7.3, Chrome BigTex Grille Guard, Quad pillar - 3 ISSPRO gauges (trans, pyro, boost) and DP-Tuner F6, Ford Severe Duty AIS, 31 row 6.0 transmission cooler (not the sissy 26 row) , ScanGauge II
dray8165 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 05-29-2010, 05:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
While the 6.0 is more prone to this problem the 7.3 also could do it. Damage to the copper gasket on the end of the injector allows combstion gas to enter the fuel passages and forces the fuel out causeing the injectors to starve of fuel. Also the hold down bolt backing out or stretching can allow the injector to unseat. This is one problem that is hard to catch in the act.

A quick test disable the fuel pump and IDM so it can't start. Remove the top filter cover and filter. Have some one roll the engine over and watch for bubbles. If bubbles are present you are getting combustion gas in the fuel rails/passages.


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink

Last edited by dannyboy950; 05-29-2010 at 05:52 PM.
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 05-31-2010, 12:44 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dray8165 View Post
First of all - you do NOT have a 04 7.3 F250. The 7.3 was discontinued mid run in 2003 and I have one of the last 7.3 trucks to roll off of the line. So verify what motor / year you have. It will make a big difference in diagnosis.
Sorry, my mistake, I am actually in the "land down under" Australia, I am informed that when the vehicles arrive here from over seas, they are issued with a new compliance plate and stamped with the year they are first registered here, so if it is a 2003 model , it may not have been complianced until 2004, hence it has a 7.3.

The mechanic that is trying to fix it, has created a thread under aussierockymechanics.

Last edited by alrocky; 05-31-2010 at 12:54 AM.
alrocky is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-02-2010, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Angry

The mechanic has put in the new oil temp sensor, no change, new kit in the injection regulator , no change, checked all earth connections, it seems that when it gets to running temp it shuts down, could it possibly be the ect sensor sending wrong signal to the computer , such as temp too high??
alrocky is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-03-2010, 07:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I assume you mean engine coolant temp sensor by ect? Unless it is a manual transmission, there is no such sensor on your truck, just the sending unit for the gauge which does not communicate with the PCM. And if it is a manual and you do have a coolant temp sensor I do not think it has an overtemp shutdown feature.

I asked your mechanic if he checked the high pressure oil system but he didn't answer. Hopefully the electrical expert he is sending it to can get some data from the PCM, it's pretty much a guessing game without that data.

2002 F350 4x4 Crew, coolant filter, 6.0 tranny cooler and ext. filter, pre pump mod & filter, Isspro pillar pod, EV-2 hpop & fuel pressure gauges, AIS, Marinco x2, door seal mod, netbook mount for AE.
bigb56 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-03-2010, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, was not aware that on the auto it only sent to the gauge, the mechanis has an auto electrician checking a few things on Monday extracting info from the computer so wait to see what data comes from that
alrocky is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-17-2010, 02:22 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Scan tool inquiry

Come Monday it has been 4 weeks at the garage trying to be fixed, it has been with the auto electrician for the last week, they have run tests on the computer and all appears to right, they believe it is an electrical problem so I am waiting still!!

I have made inquiries on the net regarding the autoenginuity tool with the Ford F series bundle, can anyone tell me whether it is the best diagnostic tool on the market, I want an instrument/programm that will be able to tell me what the problem actually is so thbat my truck is not off the road like this time it has been.
alrocky is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-17-2010, 02:29 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 
Hank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I really like my AutoEnginuity. In fact a fellow org member is dropping by my place tomorrow to have me calibrate his speedometer that FORDsaid couldn't be done because of his 38" tires. The AE will do it! Saturday I will be scanning another kid's truck to check a code he has. I think it is a great toola nd the guys that write the programs are the ones that answer the telephone when you call. Good luck. I posted in your other thread.

2001 F250 Lariat Crewcab, Automatic, 4X4

(Late '99 Regular Cab Work Truck)


6.5" Pro Comp Lift ~ Traction Bars ~ Son-Built Sliders ~ 16" Pro Comp Xtreme Wheels with 35" BFG TA KM2s
4" Banks Exh.-Power Elbow ~ Wicked Wheel ~ DIY AMSOIL EaAU4090 Intake ~ PHP 6 Pos Chip ~ LowDown LED Upgrade
Stage 1 Injectors ~ HankDaddy Mod. ~ BUILT TRANNY! 352 HP Shootin' for 375!
CAROLINA POWERSTROKE ASSOCIATION
Hank is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-17-2010, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
alrocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for that, the fellow that I have been dealing with from over there in USA has given me a distributor contact here in Australia to see if they have it in stock, otherwise I have to purchase via the USA and have it shipped.
Cheers
alrocky is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome