GPR gone bad - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 01-19-2010, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
seanoboyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GPR gone bad

Thought I would pass on what it looks like when the GPR goes bad. I had a hard time starting the truck during the past couple of weeks (never got above 30 deg here in MD). I read NCHornet's write up on the GPR and swapped out the stock for the Stancor HD relay. I can tell what the problem was when I pulled out the old relay.

You can see the pitting on the contacts. The stock relay was never up to the high amperage the glow plug circuit demands. While I was waiting for the Stancor to arrive, I was using a screw driver to short the terminals to run the glow plugs, the screw driver got HOT! You can tell by the pics the same thing was happening on the relay.

Came out in pieces. If you have a failing relay, don't put back in the stock relay, get the Stancor HD upgrade. Well worth it!

Sean

2001 F250 Crew Cab, Lariat
Dash mounted gauges (boost, tranny, EGT)
Powerslot Rotors, Hawk Pads
AFE Stage II intake
Foil Delete
John Wood Towmaster Tranny

Last edited by seanoboyle; 01-19-2010 at 11:00 AM. Reason: add comments
seanoboyle is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 01-19-2010, 11:08 AM
Let's go B's!!!!

 
Southpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
I put the Stancor relay in mine too last year or the year before. Well worth it.

Chris

2002 Crew Cab Long Bed
4" BDS, 35x13.50 Cooper STT on 20x10 Black Rockstars, and other stuff.....310,000 miles and counting...
<><
2 Thessalonians 3 v.6-15

Southpaw is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-19-2010, 03:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Minot, ND
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The Stancor is a great bet but there are also advantages in the other options.
There is the ~$60 for an OEM match with a lifetime warranty that you can find within a couple miles of home and swap out whenever.
There is also the $15 relay that has a warranty and just has a couple poles backwards.
I went with the $60 option since I was in a hurry, it was simple, and the total diagnosis/replacement/run to store time is all under a half hour if it ever does go bad again.

_____________________________________________
[LEFT]For business:
01 PSD CC 4x4 F-250
Power everything
Leather seats

For pleasure:
04 YFZ-450, WR Crank, 13.5:1 piston, Ron Woods Racing head, Crower cams, Programable ignition, Jet kit, Fuel/K/N intake, Ron Woods exhaust, Hinson clutch, worn out 06 suspension, more.
Tyler325 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-19-2010, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
seanoboyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sure there are always cheaper options, but for $20 more, I have a relay that I know will last the life of the truck. I'm from the school if you are going to fix something, do it right the first time and I won't have to fix it again. Look at the result of 100K miles on the stock relay, why would I want to put another OEM relay back in its place? Ever try and return a worn out part to the auto parts store a couple of years after you installed it? Life time warranty or not, you get what you pay for. These trucks are not cheap, so why would you want to put cheap parts on them?
Sorry for the rant, just my $.02.

Sean

2001 F250 Crew Cab, Lariat
Dash mounted gauges (boost, tranny, EGT)
Powerslot Rotors, Hawk Pads
AFE Stage II intake
Foil Delete
John Wood Towmaster Tranny
seanoboyle is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-26-2010, 01:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
little help needed

I changed my gpr today and my instrument panel doesn't work.
When I changed it I disconnected the ground from both batteries. installed the new one exactly as the old one was. turned on my ignition and my gp indicater flashed brifly and my instrument panel went blank. I checked all the fuses and they are good. I thought I might have bought a bad relay, so I put the old one back in and still nothing. truck turns over but will not start.
green02f250 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-26-2010, 03:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I possibly may have hooked new one up backwards....................
what would this effect? I really need some help with this, some input or ideas would be greatly appreciated
green02f250 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-27-2010, 03:34 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok it is blowing fuse #116, 30amp
If I hooked up the gpr would that effect the fuel bowl heater?
any ideas?
green02f250 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome