ISSPRO problems? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
ISSPRO problems?

I dont know if this is in the right area but here it goes.

My EGT gauge started acting funny the other day, it would randomly drop down to 100 degree while I was driving. I looked under the dash and found one wire was loose. It was the positive wire to one of the control boxes.

I hooked it up good and tight thinking it would fix it but it didnt.

What else could it be. Sometimes it seems accurate and most of the time its bouncing between 100 and 600 degrees. Could it be the amplification box went bad? is there a fuse? could it be a bad ground? or EGT probe is bad?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by dereku; 01-03-2010 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
Bump to the top
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Crane/Evansville, IN
Posts: 7,847
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The wire that was loose. Was it to the guages?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
yeh it was to one of the control boxes. ISSPRO gauges have 2 control boxes I believe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Crane/Evansville, IN
Posts: 7,847
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Well i've never used that brand, but I do know if a power wire gets a loose connection and shorts out a few times. Sometimes it fries a few things. Does it always read something or does it shut off sometimes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
Its hard to tell it always lights up but the needle sometimes drops all the way down.

There is an amplification box for the EGT sensor that might be it. Maybe the signal it weak or something. I just need to rewire the whole thing one day. I hate using thinks a previous owner installed.

The guy used house wire some 12ga crap, so I need to install something smaller and more for a automobile.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-03-2010, 04:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Arnold, Mo
Posts: 1,567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd rewire the whole thing and then see what you have. sounds like you have a wire loose to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-03-2010, 05:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
yeh thats what I was thinking. There is about 8 ground wires for the whole system I am sure one of those could have come loose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-03-2010, 05:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Crane/Evansville, IN
Posts: 7,847
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yeah man thats possible. Sorry to hear your probs for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-03-2010, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,297
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
oh well it would be nice to clean up some more of the previous owner crap. I already took out at least 100ft of wires from in the engine and under the dash. dont even ask why, he was splicing in to the wiring harness all over. I had to get a brand new engine harness and repair the underdash harness.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors