Stroker died jut after adding TS performance Chip - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stroker died jut after adding TS performance Chip

well happy new year every one, so far this new year hasnt quiet started out like i would have like it to, but i currently own a 2000 250psd with 210k miles, trucks been solid for the most part, i have intake , 5 in exhaust, wicked wheel, banks six gun tuner,trans lockup mod, and exhuast brake mod, and just recently purchased a ts performance 6 pos. chip. i put the ts chip on my truck when i first got it, just stuck it in the pcm and went for a test run, no tape or any thing added to hold board inside pcm in correct place. after driving for a bit SES light came on, truck still ran great, then i noticed i got a dead pedal and the (water in fuel) light flashed and so did the (wait to start) light the lights stayed on for a sec or two when they went off the truck went back to pulling and accelerating properly. experimented with the stacking the banks and the ts for maybe five minutes and then figure out that the truck ran better with the banks on stock and ts on 140hp, drove the truck off and on through out the day, did the water in fuel and wait to start light thing several more times, then it seemed like every time i hit a rough spot in the road or a bump the would do it again makes me think the chip had feel out of the pcm,stopped at the gas station to get some fuel and actually removed the banks from the truck,then got back on the road and headed home,then final the truck stallled completely i pulled her over to the side of the road and tried to make sure the chip hadnt fallen out and went to crank it again and no wait to start light, engine turns over but will not run, have no fuses blow, replaced the pcm relay, tried hooking a code reader up to the truck and it will on communicate with vehicle , transfer pump under the drivers seat isnt getting any power to it, batteries fully charged, tried unpluggin the fuel bowl heater still nothing, but it is getting power to the fuel bowl heater plug, so that tells me the pcm, fuel bowl heater fuse isnt blown, please if any one could help me out with this problem i could sure use it, hope every one had a good holiday please reply thanks STREET
blueox9771 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 02:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
pinkfloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: reading,pennsylvania
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to pinkfloyd
first off I would remove the chip. second check the fuses for the fuel pump.

2002 f-250 4X4 XLT 7.3,
stock tranny
DP-Tuner F6 chip
mbrp ss 4" turbo back exhaust
diy intake with zoodad mod
3 pilllar guage setup with autometer guages Thanks Raul
valve body
boost fooler
NEXT ON LIST
torque converter





pinkfloyd is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 07:42 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the reponse, i have removed the banks and the TS chip from the truck and have checked all the fuses, but i will go back and check them again, i pulled the plug from fuel bowl heater and turned the key and i am still getting power, but when i hook up a code reader it will not connect to vehicle as if the PCM has no power. still in the dark here please help if any one else can or if youhave any suggestions.
blueox9771 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 07:49 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is there any way to check and see if the PCM is getting power? thanks
blueox9771 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 07:51 PM
FJuanfiddy mod


 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 132
Thanked 179 Times in 159 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueox9771 View Post
thanks for the reponse, i have removed the banks and the TS chip from the truck and have checked all the fuses, but i will go back and check them again, i pulled the plug from fuel bowl heater and turned the key and i am still getting power, but when i hook up a code reader it will not connect to vehicle as if the PCM has no power. still in the dark here please help if any one else can or if youhave any suggestions.
Correct me if Im wrong here. But in your original post you stated you didnt tape the chip in place or anything and the WTS and water in fuel lights would come on when you hit a bump?

All the fuses are good and the PCM has no power. There is a very good reason for that. Leaving the chip loose and letting it bounce around on the connect caused you to fry your PCM. The only cure is to order a new one

Email: Dave@powerstroke.org
2011 F150 Ecoboost Crew cab lariat. Custom tunes from KEM and 5Star, and Unleashed
2012 F150 Crew Cab Ecoboost stock for now-Totaled March 12 2015
2006 F250 ECSB Lariat 4x4

Leveling kit, 315/70/17 Kelly TSRs on Method race wheels
ARP studs and OEM gaskets done by Renegade Diesel
ECM and Atlas 40 FICM tuned by Bill at PHP SCT tunes by Truck Source Diesel. Gearhead, Innovative, Wildman and Tyrant diesel
Flowmaster/MBRP Hybrid Exhaust
Edge Insight CTS
Coolant filter
Bulletproof diesel FICM EGR Delete, Oil Cooler and Water Pump, and Light bar.
Dually LED lights from Stealth Automotive/Xpedition Outfitters
No Limit Fab 6.0 Cold Air Intake
http://www.bulletproofdiesel.com/default.asp
http://nolimitfabrication.com/
Dave is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-02-2010, 09:08 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do you have any suggestions for a cheap place to get a new PCM im a poor college kid strugglin like crazy thanks for you imput. i thought that it was fried but just wanted to try every thing before shucking out alot of money for a pcm.
blueox9771 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-03-2010, 12:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
digem250stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey Blueox, Im having the exact same symptoms on my 00 f250psd, I plugged in the ts chip and had amazing results! until the next morning i warmed up the truck before switching the chip out of stock mode. (its 22deg here now) parked it in high idle for 5 minutes, came back to the truck and it was off. wouldnt start up again, no wait to start light. service engine soon light stays on and it will just crank crank crank. I havent had a sec to try. this but if the contacts arent 100000% clean on the pcm when u install it, it causes problems, I wonder if the Banks chip has a better tollerance than the ts chip and maybe thats why ur six gun works fine. I hope to find an answer to this soon i really need this truck up and running.
digem250stroke is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-03-2010, 12:21 PM
FJuanfiddy mod


 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 132
Thanked 179 Times in 159 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueox9771 View Post
do you have any suggestions for a cheap place to get a new PCM im a poor college kid strugglin like crazy thanks for you imput. i thought that it was fried but just wanted to try every thing before shucking out alot of money for a pcm.
Check car-part.com or dptuner.com

Email: Dave@powerstroke.org
2011 F150 Ecoboost Crew cab lariat. Custom tunes from KEM and 5Star, and Unleashed
2012 F150 Crew Cab Ecoboost stock for now-Totaled March 12 2015
2006 F250 ECSB Lariat 4x4

Leveling kit, 315/70/17 Kelly TSRs on Method race wheels
ARP studs and OEM gaskets done by Renegade Diesel
ECM and Atlas 40 FICM tuned by Bill at PHP SCT tunes by Truck Source Diesel. Gearhead, Innovative, Wildman and Tyrant diesel
Flowmaster/MBRP Hybrid Exhaust
Edge Insight CTS
Coolant filter
Bulletproof diesel FICM EGR Delete, Oil Cooler and Water Pump, and Light bar.
Dually LED lights from Stealth Automotive/Xpedition Outfitters
No Limit Fab 6.0 Cold Air Intake
http://www.bulletproofdiesel.com/default.asp
http://nolimitfabrication.com/
Dave is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-03-2010, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Digem250....the banks plugs in a different place than the ts. but i had it for a while its not much to write home about its pretty much junk. but i think from what dave has told me that i have fried my PCM wish ya best of luck, if you get any more symotoms post them and maybe some of these guys on here will be able to help you fix it faster.

Dave- what would be the best way to keep the ts chip from falling out and frying anothor pcm, i have seen duct tape used just wanted some thing a little more nicer under the dash but if all else fails i am a strong believer in duct tape. thanks for the imput bud.
blueox9771 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-05-2010, 06:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Talking i just had that problem two days ago

i just had the same exact problem with the ts chip. it took out my computer and i had to buy a new one. now my truck runs just fine... better pull out that check book. it set me back 300 bones. sorry about our luck.
curci910 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome