2000 7.3 Problems (Newbie here) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2007, 12:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2000 7.3 Problems (Newbie here)

New to the site, have kind of a long one here, strange stuff, hope for some pointers:

Truck is a 2000 F350 4x4. No engine mods. 6 speed manual, 196,000 miles. Ran great up until about 3 weeks ago. I did have 2 injector seals leaking about 8000 miles ago and had all injector seals replaced. At that time they said all injectors were ok. Truck maintained excellently… oil changes (Delo 400), coolant additive, coolant flushes, all filters regularly (air, fuel, oil). About 2000 miles on this oil so far, new fuel filter last week, etc. Oil level good – doesn’t really use much oil between changes (about a quart or so depending how I drive). No noticeable blow-by to speak of, etc. CMP is International, about 2 years old.

Basically it has recently lost power and setting SES light occasionally. The truck starts fine, runs a little rougher than used to, little bit louder (cackle – knock & chugging like sound) not the smooth idle it did have. It actually runs fair when started, then after a bit it gets worse, then better again. The periods of it acting up are becoming more frequent and lasting longer and during the periods of it running smoother and SES going off it still isn’t as good as it should be and getting worse (chugging).

I got AE and the first codes pulled were these:
P1812 = 4WD mode select circuit fail
P1876 = Xfer case 2WD solenoid circuit fail
P0107 = MAP/BARO pressure sensor circuit low
P1316 = IDM Codes
(I don’t know how long each has been there)
IDM Code = P1272 = Cylinder #2 high to low side open